how I like to remember/imagine myself.

how I like to remember/imagine myself.

Now that the summer is over and we’ve officially turned the heat on in our home, I’ve decided to take the plunge and try to get back to Budo.

I haven’t really been able to train since I got sick at the end of 2013 when I was off my meds, just before I moved to Japan. Since then I’ve been working on rebuilding my strength and balance, so that I can train. There’s still a lot I can’t do, like rolling, but I can do enough to stand in kamae and not fall over at the moment, and that’s a good start.

I only have time in my schedule to train twice a month on Mondays at the moment. Maybe it’s not as much as I would like, but I need to take baby steps. I really wish I could go back to training with Sensei on Saturdays, but that’s not something I can really afford to do at the moment. I HAVE to work Saturdays at this job, at least until my job at the university goes on break. Once I’m back at my normal job full-time, then I might be able to take off a half-day on the weekend once in a while.

Thinking ahead, it might be better for me to wait until the University’s semester is over and I’m back from my honeymoon in February/March, because by then I might be in a MUCH better position physically to train with the rest of the guys here in Japan.

I’m trying to look at it now as more like physical therapy than self-defense training, as I don’t necessarily need self-defense at the moment here in Japan. Which is crazy to say, but I guess I could have said the same thing in Germany, even if I didn’t really realize it at the time.

To add to this, I’m still not sure whether I’ll continue to train after I leave Japan or not. But for now, this is good for me and a necessary addition/logical next step to my progression. It’s helping me with dynamic movement that I might not be able to practice elsewhere, and is also helping with my hand-eye coordination. Admittedly, I’m still shit with choreography and long techniques with multiple steps. But I’m sure they’ll come back eventually.

Baby steps, for now.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

