My schedule at work the past month has been HECTIC. It’s all my own doing, of course, and it seems like it’s going far beyond my 2016 goal of ‘less work, more money’. In actuality, I AM working less, hours-wise. I’ve just managed to get myself into a situation between 3 jobs (more on that later) where each job required different days of me.

Sure, on Monday I’ll only work 4 hours instead of 12, but it’ll still be happening on the day that should be my day off. I’ll only have Tuesday off next week, and then it’ll be back to normal (with 2 days off) on the 17th. Thank goodness.

imageEven though Monday will be a shorter day, I’m still going to be exhausted, as it will have been my 12th day of work in a row (I’m typing this from work, on day 11). This week has been bad for me, since I’ve been exhausted basically all of the time I was not working. I haven’t really been able to plan meals, or go running (obviously) except for once. My mind was so scattered with all of the different jobs I was doing that I had to buy a physical paper planner and use different colors in it, just to keep it all straight in my head.

And on my days off, all I could really do was stay home and relax. The weather is getting warmer, which is bad for me, and I need to do whatever I can to conserve my energy.

I also ate a LOT of convenient food rather than cooking for myself over these past days, so I feel really heavy and weighed down. Which isn’t great, but I know that I’ll be eating better next week (and I’m eating fruit all day today, so it’s a start).

So what could I possibly do to keep up with fitness while all of this was going down? Only a few things, but I did them:
~ I went running twice (both times on the day off I had)
~ I woke up earlier (partially because there is more light in my room and I wake up earlier, and partially because I wanted to)
~ I did yoga and stretched when I could if I woke up earlier
~ I took the stairs, ALL THE TIME
~ I tried to walk faster

My running speed is definitely slower, but I HAVE been waking up and stretching, which has been the only thing keeping my back pain at bay. And whenever I could, I took the stairs. If only an escalator was available, I walked up (or down) it. And when I was walking places on my own, I tried to walk as fast as I could.

It wasn’t much, but it was all I could do. At least I can say I’ve been trying, right?

I really can’t wait to get back to a normal schedule.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

