I knew if I kept looking, I’d eventually stumble upon an easier way to get to a further train station than the one we’ve been using. I found it. And last week, I ran it for the first time. And it was great, because I didn’t need to stop at any traffic lights, or wait for trains to pass before I could cross the road.

But now I have a new (actually old) issue: my knee is acting up. This is something that I’m sure I wrote about on multiple occasions as I got back into running when I lived in Germany, because it’s a recurrent issue: whenever I start to get faster or add distance, my right knee acts up. It gets angry, or something.

IMG_7015The route I made (found) is actually too short for me, IF I RUN THE WHOLE THING. If I run when the C210K app tells me to run, and walk when it tells me to walk, it’s too short. But as it stands right now, I’m walking after I’m about 2/3 of the way through the run. I walk through the final run cycle. So for now, it’s actually an ok distance, since I have to walk part of it, rather than run it.

So I’m ok with that. The route can actually be expanded to run on some side streets which are one-way. If I want to make it even longer, I can just turn around and double back. All of that is fine.

But for now, I’m going to keep it and enjoy it, since my knee doesn’t want me to go any further. And I’m ok with that. I understand the issue my knee is having (one muscle in my leg is stronger than another, and they pull on the knee in different ways, which makes it hurt when I run longer distances). I know what I have to do to get rid of it (run more, do some focused exercise at home). So, I’m on top of that. I just have to wait it out, for now, and enjoy the new route I’ve found.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

