IMG_6971I’ve got a very specific and excellent issue at the moment. I’m getting faster when I run. This is great and shows progress, and I’m really excited about it, but it’s led me to an issue: I need to change my run route.

I normally run around my neighborhood since I’m lazy and don’t think I should pay to take a train to run somewhere else. The area I live in is residential for MILES in every direction. The closest parks are about 2km away from my house, and I’m not running THAT much yet. Soon, but not yet.

My issue is with the ‘residential’ part, and also the train lines. I used to cross the train tracks at two locations, but that’s  getting inconvenient and is breaking up my runs. Sometimes you have to wait as long as 5 minutes for 2 or 3 trains to go by before you can cross. I don’t have the time to waste (as I said in an earlier post).

So now, I’m not crossing the tracks. But I need to figure out how to go and where to go, since the roads aren’t set up in a grid. A lot of them are one-way, but have traffic lights and signals. Oh, and sidewalks don’t exist in most neighborhoods. Just some white lines in the road that make a kind of shoulder that you should stay within.

In the map above, I was trying to see if I could make it to the next-closest station to us, on the west side. I got lost. So now I’m going to be aiming for that, since those streets have sidewalks and I won’t have to wait for traffic lights if I run on one side of the street and make a kind-of circle.

The next few GPS maps I share will probably be wonky and all over the place, as I try to find a route that’s just a little long, on one-way streets so I can run against traffic, or major roads that have sidewalks. And one day, a few months from now, I might run to the park and back. One day. Once the summer is over.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

