I came across this article MONTHS ago, and meant to share it then. But life got in the way.

I want to share it because I think it’s important for people to read. We talk a lot on this site about our own fitness and training at home, but not so often about WHY we do it. Sure, we want to be healthy and try new things, and certain things work better for some of us than others.

IMG_8783One of the things that works best for me is running. Not just for exercise, but for my own mental health.

I’d like to say that I’m not a depressed person, and I generally find it hard to be (and usually, if I DO get depressed, it’s really only Mark that sees it. You’ll never read it from me. And I get rid of it as quickly as I can). But that being said, I went to a therapist in the past to help me deal with some issues, and I’m very thankful for it.

I can’t have a therapist everywhere, and I don’t really need one anymore. But something that happens to me now is that life just bogs me down. I work 10 hours a day, my job is stressful, and I don’t have a lot of free time. The free time I DO have, I want to spend it doing nothing. Just lay in bed and watch films with Mark. That’s it.

Maybe that feeling of ‘not wanting to do anything’ is a form of depression. Or maybe it’s exhaustion. Maybe it’s a mix of things that leads me to just want to stay still, be quiet, and not think. That’s ok. But the issue is that it goes directly against my inherent need to get shit done. Whenever I’m NOT doing something, I’m usually making a list in my head of all of the things I need to do, and working out how to prioritize them.

And then on top of it, I need to add running or fitness to that list, somewhere. It usually pops up on my days off, or on the day just before a day off.

We all go through that battle in our minds. The argument in my head in the morning is:
..do I need to run now? Today?
-yes, it needs to be now. You have other things to do later.
..but I’m so cozy!
-DO IT. NOW.

But truthfully, running really makes me feel so great. I feel like I could take on the world after I run, even if I am a sweating, panting mess. And the music! The music I listen to and the playlists I have posted here really do motivate me in a way I can’t describe. They make me feel powerful. I can do anything after I run, even if the thing I normally choose to do is take a shower.

The point is, even if I only ran for 15 minutes and walked for 12 (intermittently), I still have that sense of accomplishment. And when you have that, you feel like you can do anything.

So the next time you’re feeling down, get outside. It doesn’t matter how long you go, or how far. Just get out and do it, and you will definitely feel better afterwards!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

