I didn't even want green tea today, but I needed some to take this picture!

I didn’t even want green tea today, but I needed some to take this picture!

At Kamay’s request (and concern), I’m writing a follow-up to my earlier post about drinking green tea every day.

To recap, I said I planned to drink at least 5 cups of green tea each day I was at work, and see if the ‘drink 5 cups of green tea every day and lose weight!’ myths are true. Also, as I said, I’m not expecting to actually lose any weight, since my body seems to be quite happy where it is these days.

According to quite a few sites, drinking an average of 5 cups a day is totally fine, as long as it’s not drunk WITH meals, but rather between them. I am drinking mine between lessons and not while eating, I promise! I also stop drinking the green tea after my lunch break at 4:45 – 5:30, since this would keep me awake all night.

There could be some side effects to drinking a lot of green tea, such as:

~ The tannins found in both green and black tea can decrease absorption of folic acid, an important vitamin that helps decrease birth defects. If you are pregnant or trying to get pregnant, you should definitely limit your green tea consumption to two cups a day, or skip it altogether. (1)

~ Green tea can also interfere with the absorption of iron, too, so it’s recommended that you avoid drinking green tea with meals and just drink it between them. (1)

~ Green tea interacts with several medications, so it’s important to know whether or not you can drink it if you take prescription or over the counter drugs. Caution is advised if you take other stimulants or anticoagulants. (2)

~ Too much caffeine, whether from tea, coffee, or another source, can lead to rapid heart beat, insomnia, and tremors to stimulant psychosis or even death. Most people can tolerate 200-300 mg of caffeine. According to WebMD, the lethal dose of caffeine for adults is 150-200 mg per kilogram, with serious toxicity possible at lower doses. (2)

~ There is a list of other possible side effects, which is quite long and I don’t want to copy and paste it all, HERE.

As you can see, there are many, many risks associated with drinking too much green tea, with lethal doses listed. I will say, however, that although I’ve posted this list here for everyone to read, I’m not going to post the similar side effects I found when researching ‘drinking too much coffee’, as the results are quite similar.

There are side effects associated with just about everything we consume, and I’ve gone into this trial understanding that. I’m not drinking tea on my days off, and understand the specific risks I face having the body and immune system that I have: I’m prone to cysts, and caffeine is bad for them. But thankfully I’m on my BC meds, so it should keep cysts in check. I’m also trying my hardest to not drink caffeine after 6pm, since caffeine has a huge effect on me. On top of this, I get anxious sometimes, and caffeine won’t help that.

Personally, I think I should only do this for a month. OF COURSE.

I will say that so far, the green tea has helped boost me through that early-shift part of my day when I don’t feel so great about being at work, and is making me more alert for the first half of my day. It’s also making piss a LOT more, so I really don’t want to keep this up. Also, I’m getting bored with the taste.

I started the trial on August 3, so I’ll finish it on Sept 3.  I’m just over the halfway point now, and am feeling fine.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

