I’ve been doing yoga at home in the mornings for the past 3 weeks.

Today was the first day I could achieve balancing on one foot. I pulled of a very cautious tree pose, on BOTH sides! Granted, my left side is still somehow stronger and more balanced than my right side, but this is a major sign of progress.

IMG_3993-0As I wrote in earlier posts, I’ve been trying to rebuild my strength and balance since the beginning of 2014, when I finally came out of a very big, long-lasting MS non-relapse. Maybe it was a relapse, but I don’t know, since I couldn’t see a doctor while living in the UK for 6 months.

I’ve been pushing myself daily to try a little harder, and do a little more. This generally happens on the stairs: I can get UP the stairs without using the handrail on most days, but going DOWN the stairs is the issue. I usually rely on the handrail, and have to walk really slowly, placing each step very deliberately.

If I don’t do this, then I generally look like Chihiro ^^^. Even here, she looks like she’s pretty balanced, and just kind of half falling, half running down the stairs. But that’s about the face I make and how I feel when I’m not holding a railing.

It’s been so bad that I had to bow out of even trying to go back to budo, since whenever I would try to stand in a normal kamae (starting position), I would fall down.

But today, there was progress. I was able to slowly pull my foot off the floor and rest it on the side of my leg. Maybe I’m not ‘holding it in the air without putting stress on the leg I’m leaning on’, but this is progress. It took a lot for me to be able to hold that position for more than a moment, and a whole lot of breathing.

And that’s a start.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

