Well Hello there! Here I am, back to write about the yoga I’m TRYING to do, in order to get my balance back and eventually get back to Budo and running.

I began today on the second video in my lineup, from Jillian Michaels.

I have to say, a lot of friends have recommended her Yoga videos. I’m not impressed. I’m not trying to be a hater, but I’ve never understood what was so exciting about Jillian. I’ve never used her videos before, and understand that she’s famous as a female fitness figure.

I dropped this video about 3 minutes in. Listening to her constant talking was a bit too much for me, and I couldn’t relax at all. Also, regarding relaxing, this is more like aerobics or pilates than yoga.

Maybe I just didn’t know what to expect. I want (or need) a very specific type of yoga in order to feel like it was worth it: I need to stretch out, relax and be able to get out of my mind for a while. Hearing someone constantly talking, and moving quickly through poses just doesn’t do it for me.

*

The next video in my lineup was this one:

I wasn’t a fan of this one, either, but I kept with it since I had time constraints and couldn’t bear to begin again.

I’m not a huge fan of gimmicks or catch phrases, and her use of ‘rock n roll’ and ‘rock your yoga’ irked me. Also, she couldn’t keep her mouth shut. As I said above in the Jillian video comments, I want to get back into yoga slowly, and try to relax before I go kill myself at work, and her constant talking wasn’t good for me.

Also, there was a massive overuse of the word ‘detox’, which I don’t believe I necessarily get from doing some rockin’ modified sun salutations.

To add to this, I kind of have a hard time believing that this lady is ‘super rock n roll’ in real life. I feel like she was smiling too much. Her hair is cool and reminds me of a friend who IS very rock n roll, however, this lady didn’t strike me as such.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 9.30.36And also, this. At the almost-end of the video, we did this pose, and she said that ‘all of your hard work and detoxing has led to this.’

Really?

I’m not TRYING to be negative. But at the stage I’m at in my yoga practice (which is ‘beginning from almost scratch’), this is not a relaxing pose for me yet, brick or no brick. And what detoxing was I actually doing, stretching while stressed?

I made it all the way through this one, but didn’t feel very relaxed or ready for the week ahead.

I’ll explain one day why my job is so stressful, but am not sure I’m ready to talk about it yet. Let’s just say for now that I’m in the land of customer service, and I quit customer service YEARS ago because it wasn’t my thing. Somehow, teaching here has become more about customer service, rather than learning.

Next up is another video. I’ve only got 2 or 3 videos left that are 30 minutes long, so I’ll have to do some hunting in the next few days to build  up my arsenal. Either that, or subscribe to Yoga instructor #1 from the initial video. We’ll see.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

