Hey there readers! I’m sure you’ve been wondering what we’re up to and where we are… sorry to have gone MIA again, but I made the mistake of going OFF the grid not once, but THREE times in the past few weeks, for sustained amounts of time. So now I am back and sitting in reliable WIFI for a while, and I’m going to write a lot to get things up and posted!

Screen Shot 2013-08-05 at 14.40.58

So, first thing’s first: I am still FAR too weak to even handle the fitness trial I wrote about at the beginning of the month. This trial is minimal, but I can barely stand unassisted at the moment.

Don’t worry about me, I am fine and NOT relapsing!! I’m just getting out of some summer non-relapse weakness, and there is nothing I can do but wait it out and try to stay active. This got compounded in the past two weeks by what I believe to be a pinched nerve in my lower back, and I couldn’t really do much aside from try to stay comfortable. I’m still dealing with that, but have started a regimen of painkillers and anti-inflammatories for breakfast, lunch and dinner to try to get out of it. Add this to my natural ‘roids routine AND my injections, and all I can say is that I’m glad I’m no longer taking BC pills on top of it all! If I could just get on to MS pills rather than injections, we’d be set!

Anyway. I’m writing because in the past 3 weeks, I’ve been in four different countries and one of the things I know I CAN do is walk. I’ve decided that while I am NOT in top condition and NOT able to do much, walking is really all I’ve got. Thankfully, my appetite has gone down due to the lack of exertion, but still… I can’t stand to stay still.

DSCN9684sI was in Germany, Belgium, the Netherlands and England… all in new places! So although I can’t walk for LONG and can’t walk very fast, I got out and walked. I was in Amsterdam for two nights and then spent about a week camping in Northern England. In places that you don’t know well, it’s always best to get out and walk in order to learn them. These are not places I intend to live in, but I would hope to at least go back to both of them!

One day in England, we walked through the Yorkshire Dales. It was a 2.5 hour, hilly and windy walk at the top of some very large hills in which I often fell behind… my legs killed me the next day! I can barely hold myself up in the shower to shave my legs, but I can certainly move forward.

I’m writing because so much of what we do is try new things and new workouts, but sometimes, we physically CAN’T work out. In situations like these, it’s best to just do whatever you can in order to maintain some amount of physical activity. The one thing I can do is walk, so that is the thing I am working on doing. Thankfully, I am still FUNemployed (although I have a very important interview tomorrow), so I don’t have a schedule to adhere to, or anyone to look after. So I can go out and walk whenever I want.

I know that walking might be boring if you’ve always lived in the same place, or don’t like your neighbors, or generally don’t walk, due to living far away from everything. Regardless of this, it is still considered to be one of the best workouts, and it’s free!

So when you can’t do anything else, do the one thing you do every day. And if you can’t do that, do something else. Good luck and keep moving! More from me later, and hopefully some good news in the coming week!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

