Carly Noelle

Carly Noelle

Carly Noelle was born on July 1st, weighing a whopping 6 lbs 4 oz. Easy pregnancy (physically), easy labor and easy delivery. We feel so blessed to have this beautiful baby girl as a part of our family. We feel complete. It’s like she was always here and her big brother is loving her to pieces, which makes me want to cry with pure joy.

Life is good.

Enter postpartum body…

Before I got pregnant, I had worked my ass off (literally) and was feeling so great physically and working on finding peace mentally. I weighed 126 lbs and was in pretty decent shape.

8mo pregnant and counting

8mo pregnant and counting

Like my first pregnancy, I gained about 30 lbs total despite my sugary cravings — I ate a lot of chocolate frosted doughnuts, oreos, cereal, candy, fast food, soda, etc. Am I proud of it? No. But I’m working to correct it, now.

During my pregnancy, I gave up caffeinated coffee, which wasn’t difficult because I was already drinking half decaf/half regular. I still enjoy a cup of decaf coffee almost everyday, but I don’t get headaches like I used to. I don’t NEED it and I’m really proud of that.

I have limited my sugary drink intake to once a week, if at all. I do love a good fountain soda, but I know it’s not healthy and I know having even one makes me want more so I’m working to eliminate it from my diet. Partly because I want to set a good example for my now 2.5 year old son who watches my every move.

My next challenge is to get back to planning a weekly menu of healthy foods. I’m back to pinning recipes and trying new things. I made quinoa crusted chicken the other day and it was delish! And what’s better? My son asked for seconds…twice. “More please Mommy” is like music to my ears coming from a kid who likes bread, mac and cheese and chicken nuggets … and yes, I made my own baby food when he was a baby and introduced him to veggies first. He’s a stubborn little guy who won’t touch anything green. I trick him once in a while with a good smoothie though. Victory for me!

My 6wk postpartum check up is Monday and after I get the go ahead to start working out again, I plan to dive right back in to yoga and get my ass outside walking. I picked yoga because I need to stretch and work on my core (hello planks) and I want to start off slow because this isn’t a race. I am not trying to lose weight because I want to fit some image of a skinny MILF. I want to get back to a healthy routine and once I do that, the weight will come off anyway.

I am also breastfeeding so I’m not trying to deprive myself of nutrients so a strict diet is out of the question. Not that I would follow a strict diet. It’s not my personality. Everything in moderation, I say.

So, onward and upward! I may be soft around the middle with wider hips (thank you child birth), but after having 2 kids, I have learned to love my body for what it is. Now, I just need to love it enough to get it back to being healthy and setting a good example for the little yes watching me.

More to come…

xoxo

Michelle

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

One response »

Leave a Comment

