My body has an interesting opinion of how much sleep I seem to need: if I wake up with an alarm clock, it MUST be something along the lines of 7.5 – 8 hours. However, if I let myself wake up naturally on the weekends (or Monday mornings, rock out), I will always end up sleeping for only about 7 hours.

This is a huge difference from the younger me, who seemed to function best on about 6 hours of sleep. I don’t know if I was deluding myself, or just used to it… but either way, once the diagnosis of MS came around my 25th year, the extra hour (or two) was suddenly a LOT more important and absolutely necessary to my getting through the days.

Before, I used to have trouble falling asleep. Now I am out almost as soon as my head hits the pillow. Overwork? Longer days? Seasonal wear-down? Either way, I find myself falling asleep somewhere between 9:30 and 11:00 these days, and that makes me feel really, really old. Although, to be fair, if I’m not asleep by 10:30, chances are I’ll feel like CRAP the next morning when I have to wake up for work.

I use the below video a LOT for my English classes, and I love it for so many reasons. Firstly, it’s Arianna Huffington, who is just awesome. I also love her accent. But mostly, I love what she’s saying. I love that she calls us out on it being some kind of badge of honor, how little sleep we get. Like that’s a point of pride or something. If there’s one thing I’ve learned in the past 3 years, it’s that I need my GD beauty sleep, or my morning students will HATE me.

The right amount of sleep is SO important to getting the most out of your days, but also out of your workouts!!! If I wake up from too little sleep and spend all day running on fumes, it’s guaranteed that my workout will totally suck. I just won’t give it my all, because I can’t!

What about you? How much sleep is ‘optimal’ for you and your body? I’m 31, semi in shape, and need 7.5 – 8 hours. I’d love to know what you guys get/need!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

