Today I had ‘it’ back. I’m not sure what exactly ‘it’ is, but I can describe it as spending the entire day KNOWING that I will do a workout, and not feeling intimidated by what lies ahead. Do you ever have those days?

I woke up this morning knowing I’d work out. I woke up an hour earlier than I needed to and laid in bed, wondering if I should get up, turn on the computer, and search for the workout I had in mind. I decided against it NOT because I didn’t feel like it, but because I knew it was sitting on our site’s Workouts We Will Try! Pinterest board. When I went to it today, it was the first/most recent pin. Because I’m organized like that:)

Initially, my thought was to take today to do the ‘fit test’ that usually comes with a BR 30-Day challenge, at the beginning. That was a bit of a cop-out idea, since the ‘fit test’ is normally a bit easier than the workouts! I decided against all of that. I don’t need to count my results or know how many more I can do. I know I will feel and see the difference. So even though today is Friday and the weekend is coming, I don’t care. Thursdays and Wednesdays are my hardest days schedule/work-wise, so they might as well end up being my weekends. And if I keep going like I plan to, that’s when my ‘rest days’ will fall. And I’m ok with that.

So today I did the Oct 15 Hot Dirty Lust workout. And oh yeah, I’m a hot, dirty, sweaty mess. Just as I should be. There is definitely a shower in my future tonight!

shown with my wallet and hand for size comparison! It's not as big as my art history book, but big enough:)

shown with my wallet and hand for size comparison! It’s not as big as my art history book, but big enough:)

Now that I’m living in a new apartment, I am without a lot of the Body Rock equipment that had been accrued over a few months’ time. So instead of a sand bag, I used a book that I brought with me… just like in the beginning!

I’m ok with that, and I’m ok with problem-solving like I did back then. Having all of that equipment is great, but assuming NOT everyone buys it, it’ll be more fun to  help our readers get some ideas from around the house:)

One thing that I HAVE to remember to do is to open the door in the living room before working out!! I made it through minute 9 of this 12-minute workout today before realizing the issue/coming close to overheating. It is November 30. Today was our first ‘freezing’ day. And still, too warm in the apartment, which is totally my fault! So I did the end of that workout and the ab bonus in front of the open door, and felt much better. Noted. Remembered.

DSCN5088Here’s my ‘before’ picture.

I know I don’t need to show this, but this is me holding myself accountable and showing just how far I’ve let myself go. I know I’ll see the results, and I’m giving myself until Christmas, which is about 30 days, to get them.

As I said yesterday, I could sit around being angry at myself for not having had the energy, time or inclination to do more than the absolute minimum in the past few months, but I’m not. I can’t be. My life has gone through some major changes in the past months, and there isn’t really much I could have done to change that fact. So here is me, back at something close to square one. And I’m going to go, and give it 12 minutes a day, minimum, to get back to where I was heading.

And if, in the meantime, I finally get MORE energy back, I’ll add on running. But for now, I’m happy to be walking more around the city, and I know that in the beginning, that’s all I’ll need. I’m setting my running goal for Xmas. Get running by Xmas, woman!

If you want to do these workouts with me, and share how you feel about them, please join in and comment! We’ll be reading, and I certainly need some motivation:)

Every journey begins with a single step, right?

xo

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

