I can’t help but wonder if the two are connected. Or at least, connected for me.

In the past two months I haven’t been listening to music as much as I normally do. It’s due to a lot of things, and I can’t put the blame on one part of my life/psyche or another. But it’s certain: I haven’t been listening to music much, if at all. And I wonder, after today, if that has had a lot to do with my lack of workout motivation.

I say this because I was planning to do my little workout today, but hadn’t gotten around to it. I was kind of putting it off, and since I have budo tonight it made sense to do it before going to class, rather than after. So I was walking around the apartment doing this and that, and my friend was playing some music videos that were related to James Bond films. I have no idea why, but I imagine it had something to do with seeing Skyfall the other night.

Either way, the tracks came to Madonna’s ‘Die Another Day‘, which isn’t even that great of a song, but used to be a track on my workout playlist. I was about to make some pre-class pasta and it occurred to me that I would have enough time to put the noodles on to boil and then do the workout as I waited for them to be finished.

This isn’t something I think I would have thought two days ago, but I thought it today. The only difference? I heard a song that used to be on my running playlist.

Coincidence? Conditioned reflex a la Pavlov and his dogs? Maybe. One thing I can tell you is that I’m thankful for it. I’m going to make it a point to get back to listening to music more often (like, every day, at least when I’m walking to classes), and maybe that in turn will make me more inclined to work out.

I can’t believe it escaped me, how important music is to me. Talk about distracted…

I think I’ll get back to posting playlists for our readers as I find new tracks. So look for those in the coming days/weeks:)

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

2 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    This is great & I agree music moves the soul – I ❤ Music!!

  2. Michelle S. says:

    i LOVE that song. it is so motivating and kick ass.

Leave a Comment

