Hey guys, sorry I haven’t written in a while, mostly about my bout with the Insanity workout. I know this should’ve been written about 2 weeks ago, but I admit, I was slacking on that. I did, however officially finish the 60 day workout. And yes, it is INSANE!

I will admit that I was both nervous and excited to see what would come out of yet another TV infomercial workout program. I had already done P90X, so I was curious. The first month is what I would call the “break in.” But it’s no walk in the park. The longest DVD for month 1 is almost an hour, but that’s with the Fit test added onto Monday’s workout. The rest are between 30 and 45 minutes. Month 2 is the “max” month. Each workout is stepped up a notch, lasting from 40min- 1 hour, but it goes by fast. The whole time, you are pushing yourself through intense interval training, watching your sweat drip off of your body. Every shirt and sports bra I wore were soaked by the time I was done. Here’s one of them:

The first and last DVD you do is the Fit Test. It’s a 25 minute workout that takes you through 8 moves, and every other week you do it, you log your numbers to see how much better you did than the previous week. Here’s mine:

Week 1, Week 3, Week 5, Week 9

Move 1: 95, 80, 105, 95

Move 2: 45, 53, 68, 60

Move 3: 61, 80, 66, 84

Move 4: 20, 22, 27, 30

Move 5: 7, 8, 8, 8

Move 6: 13, 16, 16, 14

Move 7: 24, 27, 27, 29

Move 8: 29, 40, 45, 47

Totals: 294, 326, 362, 367

So obviously by me doing this workout, my fitness did get better by the end, even with me missing some days but re-making them up to make sure I did every single day on the schedule. I have to say, if it wasn’t for me being introduced to BodyRock prior, I would’ve had a hard time doing some of the moves, like burpees, power jumps, etc. It was easier once I realized I had done some of them already. My favorite DVD was a tie between the Core, Cardio and Balance DVD, and the Max Sports Interval DVD. The CC&B DVD you do for a week in between months 1 & 2 as a recovery week, but you still sweat and get a good workout in.

What was great about the whole workout, was that you could take a break whenever you needed to. All of the people in each DVD were totally fit, but even they were taking breaks and exhausted; I really liked that. I didn’t feel down looking at these people. They were killing themselves just as much as I was. And that’s what this workout takes; YOUR MOTIVATION. If you don’t have it and don’t push yourself, you won’t finish it. End of story.

The only DVD’s I didn’t like were both AB DVD’s. I honestly felt like even though they were 15 minutes longer than P90Xs’ AB Ripper, I got a better overall workout w.the AB Ripper, so I did that instead on AB days. I was also happy to see that the nutrition guide was much easier and cheaper to follow compared to P90X’s nutrition guide. Insanity gives you 5 meal lists with 8-10 choices, and each day you choose what you want to eat which was great. Plus, all the ingredients in the meals are things you can buy in your regular grocery store. No “specialty” grocery store trip. I managed to stay in my usual shopping budget no matter what meals I chose. AND, they all tasted awesome.

As for my results, I did take a “before” photo, but I’m not going to be posting it. The reason is because my bod didn’t change much, if at all. Near the end of month 2, I noticed my weight went up about 2 lbs, so I might’ve gained some muscle, because I was following the meal plan. My cardio, however, did change. I didn’t notice until my fall softball season started. Someone on my team commented on me getting faster, and I started to notice after that. So even thought i didn’t get the “tone” I wanted, I’m happy I got some result.

Due to my results, I don’t know if I 100% believe the results of the people in the infomercial. I really want to, because each workout was crazy and I actually enjoyed it, but everyone’s body is different. I also didn’t start following the nutrition guide until month 2, because I thought it was going to be as expensive as P90X’s. So maybe that might’ve changed my results, I’m not sure.

Overall, it was an awesome workout, and I’m glad I forced myself to try it and finish it. I’ve decided to keep doing it, but every other day to keep my cardio up. I’d tell anyone to do this workout, fit or not. If you’re not, you will definitely build up to being able to last longer before breaking. And once again, you HAVE TO STAY MOTIVATED AND PUSH YOURSELF. You’ll be happy you did; I am.

2 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    way to go Steph!!!! That is so awesome. You rock.

  2. germanymarie says:

    rock out!! I’m so glad you did this and got through it:)

Leave a Comment

