It’s summer and I’ve got MS, which means at least one thing: I’m tired, a LOT. And not because of anything much, just this pesky disease and its side effects.

A lot of people ask me about fatigue in regards to MS and how it effects me personally. Here’s what I can say: it’s a pain in the ass, but a welcome one. Why do I say that? Well, because fatigue comes BEFORE a relapse. Sure, it also comes during and after, but most often, fatigue comes and is a reminder that I need to slow down, or else I’ll relapse.

Back when I was a young Budoka with years of soccer in my past, it was normal to push through being tired, sore, too hot, or whatever. It was normal for me to keep going, no matter what. And while I’d love to be able to do that nowadays (and could, if I wanted to relapse), now the fatigue comes and forces me to relax, take it easy, slow down and usually: get the hell out of the sun!

Sadly, my fatigue is most often weather-induced. Anything more than 85 degrees and I’m dying and in need of a pool or AC. This means I’ll never vacation in Egypt during the summer. It means I’ll never lay on a beach in the summer, unless it’s a cool/mild one. It means I don’t get to go into saunas or whirlpools (but steam rooms feel ok!), and that I won’t be running marathons in the summer months, when they are most popular.

It’s kind of sad, for a hot second. But then I remember that my body has become nearly immune to cold weather, and that I can still work out in air-conditioned spaces. Or outside in cooler weather. It means I can go to vacation spots in the off seasons and save money! It also means that I’m forced to treat myself well, regardless of whether I want to or not. Most people don’t have that hanging over them and will overwork themselves to the point of meltdown. Not me, before that even comes close to happening, I’m forced to take a nap or lay in front of a fan.

But still, there are things that MS patients and EVERYONE should keep in mind, in order to keep the fatigue to a minimum and just weather-induced, rather than an everyday occurence. That’s why I’m writing, and that’s why I’m sharing THIS ARTICLE on 15 ways to fight MS fatigue.

Fatigue happens to everyone. It’s a way of life in the US, and I am not looking forward to going back to that… but if we all just take a little time for ourselves and remember that we’re human, we can fight the burnout before it happens. Even if I didn’t have MS, this would still be a good read.. hence the reason I’m posting it now!

Fight the fatigue: take care of yourself!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

Leave a Comment

