Recently I’ve started having issues with finding clothes that fit 🙂 Which for anyone who knows the transformation I’ve taken in the past 6 months knows this is a GREAT problem for me to have 😉 However a problem none the less.

Other than not having a pair of jean shorts that remotely fit the next biggest problem is swimsuit. I live on a farm and we swim in the pond almost every other night in the summer. The 2 swimsuits that I had prior are now too big so after some digging found a swimsuit that I had from 6 years ago and luckily it fit. Actually to my surprise even a little too big & I had to find a skirt to wear over the bottoms.


It got me thinking… the last time I wore this suit in public was before kids I weighed a mere 145 lbs (which is only 15 lbs heavier than when I graduated from High school… it’s that dreaded ‘freshman 15’) but after looking at some old photos I was surprised how ‘chubby’ I appeared in the face. It really is a fat vs. muscle idea here. I weigh about 161 lbs now and I look amazingly different.  My face is so thin and my core is thinner. It’s amazing truly because I weigh significantly more now but I look smaller.

I guess my point is truly that ‘healthier’ should not be a number necessarily. It should be centered around your abilities and how you feel. The truth is 1 cubic inch of muscle weighs more than 1 cubic inch of fat. Muscle is 18% more dense than fat.  Lets put this in perspective from a food point of view because we all know about food.  1 apple will represent our muscle and the equivalent in fat will be a huge towering pile of large marshmallows. Truly! What you would you rather have around your waist?? A small apple or be this fluffy pile of marsDSC_7973hmallows.
I was telling my husband I really wanted to lose 10 more pounds and I’m going to try to in the next month before we leave for vacation but I feel as though I had already reached a great point to stay at. I am healthy and feel great I am at a weight that I truly feel comfortable and ‘healthy’ at. It’s not the number so much that I worry about its the way I feel. I want to continue to tone, my abs and my arms which seem to be the huge problematic areas for me. Surprisingly my thighs are becoming less and less a problem… mostly I’m sure because of the running.

Sure, there are days I’d like to throw the scale completely out the window. As a matter of fact my son, whom is 6 was playing a story telling game the other day where he was left with 2 dice showing the symbol of fire and a scale and he finished the story by saying “and I set the scale on fire, for Mommy!”.  God love that kid he is always trying to make me happy 🙂 I try not to dwell on the number on the scale and rely on how I feel. Having to take a break for 5-7 days while I was recouping from my nasty spider bite by Monday I was not even wanting to stand in the same room with the scale. I had tried lowering my calorie intake because I wasn’t burning as much but still eat every 2-3 hours but still you just miss that refreshing feeling the exercise gives you.  The scale was the LAST place I wanted to go, I grabbed the tape measure instead. I hadn’t gained inches thankfully and by Monday I was READY to get back to running and Body Rock.

So here’s my thought… DON’T get discouraged when the scale doesn’t show you the numbers you think it should. I’s love to be 145 lbs again but I look at those pictures of myself from 6 years ago at 145 lbs and think I don’t want to look like that, I look chubby and I think at 161 lbs I look WAY better & I feel AMAZING! That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop eating right or exercising, it just means I’m going to continue, I know I can reach 145 lbs and look even better but I’m not going to get discouraged if the scale says otherwise!

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

5 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    grrr. I wrote a whole awesome comment and it didn’t post.

    don’t you worry about that 145 number. You have birthed 3 children and hips spread out and weight redistributes. Forget it! You look amazing and you’re not done yet! Just keep on keeping on with that cardio and you’ll start to see even more changes. I am so proud of you, I can’t even begin to say. ❤

  2. countrykay says:

    AWE! Michelle I couldn’t have done it without you gals and all the support I’ve had from my hubby & my friends!! THANK YOU all SO very much!!

  3. germanymarie says:

    This is some amazing progress, I’m SO GLAD you posted those photos!!! What a hige difference!! I’m so proud of you!

  4. countrykay says:

    Thank you GM 🙂 Couldn’t have done it without all the support, truly.

  5. s_cin says:

    I love your perspective on this. I’m sure it’s changed since you’ve started on your journey, and the fact that you recognized the REAL way you should feel, is awesome. I’m so happy for you 🙂

Leave a Comment

