We all see it. Ad after ad, commercial after commercial, celebrity after celebrity, telling us to buy this or that because it will make all the difference in our lives. We’ve even fell for it a time or two…or three. It’s all good. It happens.

When armed with knowledge about what’s healthy and what’s not, these decisions gets easier and the choices become clearer. Choose to be informed!

shape-ups

After my pregnancy, I had to buy new sneakers. It’s not uncommon for your shoe size to go up a half size or more after being pregnant and my old sneakers had gotten too snug. I went to DSW and was trying to choose between two brands: Skechers and Adidas. The Adidas were good shoes, but I liked the idea that the Skechers had that built-in “rocker bottoms” that would help me lose weight and tone faster. They even came with a pamphlet and DVD! I mean, come on.

I got home and immediately put them on to walk around and work out and I didn’t feel much of a difference, but figured they must be doing something that I was unaware of. The gimmick is that you can basically tone your legs and butt without doing much more than walking because the bottoms of these shoes throw you off-balance as you’re walking so your body works harder to maintain balance.

Ummm, I don’t think so. After only a few weeks, the tread had worn down enough that there was basically no difference between them and my old sneakers (which finally started to fit again).

Another example…

My husband LOVES Nutella. I mean LOVES. The commercials for Nutella claim that it is a healthy alternative and a part of a well-balanced breakfast because it has hazelnut and natural cocoa. In fact, a few teaspoons of Nutella amounts to 200 calories, 21 grams of sugar and 11 grams of fat. Now, we all know that good fat is good for you, but everything in moderation. Boasting that you can eat Nutella as part of your daily breakfast is misleading.

If there’s any lesson in these purchases, it’s ALWAYS LOOK AT THE INGREDIENTS. We say that all the time, but these examples are further proof, when it comes to what we put into our bodies, that is. The shoes, well, that was my own laziness wanting to get fit the fast and easy way.

Any product that claims to help you lose weight or get fit without having to do any real work is most likely a lie. It’s the work that changes your life for the better. As my therapist tells me, “be patient with the process” and she couldn’t be more right. It’s the work you put into eating healthy and exercise that changes you and makes you a better version of who you are.

Next time, I’m going to just go with my gut!

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

Leave a Comment

