I don’t usually have the radio on when I drive in to work, but because I decided to forget my IPod on the kitchen counter, I had no choice because I didn’t want to drive into work with silence. I think I had 104.3 on, and before they took a quick break, 1 of the news pieces they were going to talk about was on Skinny Jeans and how not good they are for your health; I was intrigued and kept listening.

I know that SJ’s are the new fashion trend, because they look great with boots over them, and so on and so on, but I’ve never been a fan; sorry to those who are. I tried a pair on, and I immediately took them off because I hated feeling like my legs had no room to move around. Plus, my hips and thighs aren’t what you’d call hot, so I didn’t feel like I looked good in them. I have seen people who wear them, but really should have thought twice because of how not good they look in them.

So onto the science behind this claim. While listening to the radio station, a doctor from Baltimore had said some info on it, I guess in another TV or Radio interview about the concerns they have. When I got home from work today, I decided to look into it more. According to ABC’s website, CBS’s website, A study has been published in Wall Street Journal revealing that “tight pants can pinch sensitive nerves in the thigh, leading to pain or a burning sensation.” Skinny jeans have also been linked to digestive problems and even blood clots. The same goes for body slimmers, such as Spanx or waist-cinching belts. If they’re worn too tightly, the compression can also cause nerve problems and stomach aches.

The medical term for this is called “meralgia paresthetica,” or in English “tingling thigh syndrome.” This is caused when too-tight jeans compress a nerve that cuts off sensation to the thigh. The latest fashion victims from skinny jeans are facing a real health concern, CBS News medical correspondent Dr. Jennifer Ashton said on “The Early Show” Thursday. “It makes sense based on the anatomy and physiology,” Ashton said. “We’re talking about a nerve that runs through the groin called the femoral cutaneous nerve, and with tight things, even tight jeans, it can become numb down the thighs and into the buttocks.”

Ashton then compared this feeling to stepping on a garden hose. “If you step on it, and can’t get the water, the same thing (happens). Tingling thigh syndrome isn’t confined to skinny jeans, Ashton said. Surgery, diabetes, obesity, pregnancy and prolonged standing or walking may also result in the same nerve pressure.”

“Sometimes when a retractor is placed in the abdomen, people can complain of this. But skinny jeans are also culprit, Ashton said. And, if you add a pair of stiletto heels that push the pelvis forward, she said, you’re causing even more pressure on the nerve. It actually makes the angle in your hip a lot more pronounced,” she said.

Ashton recommends to stop wearing these jeans and opt for the more flexible and fitting “jeggings,” which are also surfacing as a fashion trend. I mean let’s face it, this trend won’t last for more than another year or 2 right? It’s often said that once a trend comes back a 2nd time, it won’t come back after that. I’m interested to read more on this as more information comes out.

2 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    there was also a study done a few years ago about the jeans that sit to low on your hips, pinching the spinal chord and causing nerve damage. I guess we should just stop wearing tight stuff?!

  2. Michelle S. says:

    this was very interesting. thank you for sharing this. i have never really been a fan of skinny jeans on me but i think they look cute on others. now i have a real excuse not to wear them!

Leave a Comment

