Today was fitness test day, and as you can see from the first, initial fitness challenge when I began, the idea is to see what progress you’ve made after two weeks. The post on the BR website is HERE.

So, as I mentioned earlier, I’m traveling. And now that my family knows about it, I can tell you: We’re currently in Milan, Italy. My father’s dream has always been to go to Italy, and since they finally came out for a visit, we felt it was important to drive them across the border. But then, we decided we should surprise them with a few nights in Italy, as well.

So yesterday was spent in the car, going from A to B to C to D. We drove them to the Bodensee which touches 4 countries, and had lunch on the Austrian side. Then we drove into Switzerland (passing Liechtenstein and seeing it, but not going in) and up into the Alps, past some amazing scenery. We crossed into Italy at the top of a mountain. It was snowy, as you can see from the picture: this was still the Swiss side, and my parents had NO IDEA where we were going, just that we were going UP. We stopped a few times to take some photos, like it was no big deal and since they were still kind of clueless about what lay on the other side of the mountains.

I sat my ass in some snow, since that’s the kind of shit I’m known for. I only did it because our car has butt warmers in the seats. I knew I’d be dry in 10 minutes. But wow, it was cold.

Then we crossed into Italy and stopped at a small lake that felt like it was at the top of the world. I’m really happy to have them over here, and so is René. I’m also really happy that I was able to make the Italy trip happen for my dad, since I know it’s been a dream of his for a really long time. Sure, we had to force them to get passports and not tell them they’d be staying in Italy, just visiting us in our city, but whatever.

I like to make things happen for people.

I would love to work for the Make a Wish foundation.

So we finally pulled into Milan just before sunset (which is currently 9pm here), and went straight for dinner. Dad had a ‘real Italian calzone’, and was happy. But by the time we got in, there was no time (or inclination on my part) to do the 8 minute fitness test. I fell into bed.

The plan is to do the fit test this morning (done), tour Milan today, and then do Week 3 Day 2 tonight when we get in, in the fitness room at the hotel.

The workout this morning went really well. Our hotel room is AMAZING (photos to come once the bed’s been made) and has its own private balcony. Thanks, free upgrade! So this morning, I did my workout at 6:30 after waking up, out on the balcony, which faces east and gets the sunrise. That makes me very happy:)

My scores from the fit test are across the board better, but not by much. I’ll admit: it’s that time of the month where I’m retaining water and I’ve also been bad about keeping the schedule… it took me two weeks to do week 2. I’m not going to let that happen this week, though, and am going to push through all of this week and next. Below is the view from our balcony. Good morning, Milano!!

My scores from today are as follows:

Squat Jumps: 23
Push ups: 19
Burpees: 9 (the only number that didn’t get better)
High Knees: 124
Switch Lunge: 24
Tuck Jumps: 22 (I really hate these)
Tricep Dips: 16 (dying at this point)
Straight Abs: 21 (once again, lying straight leg raises)

These improvements aren’t huge, and I think they would have been better if I’d done them at the end of week 2 rather than the beginning of week 3, but I don’t care. Improvement is improvement, and I only ever compete against myself.

More updates from Bodyrock and Milano to come!! I’m proud of myself for working out on vacation:)

xoxo
G

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

2 responses »

  1. s_cin says:

    I’m so happy that you’re keeping the commitment to workout while on a semi-vacation! go you!

  2. Michelle S. says:

    you are f-ing AMAZING!!!!!!! I cannot wait to incorporate this into my daily routine when G-man starts going to daycare. I can’t wait to see picture updates!!

Leave a Comment

