Everyone (including myself) has used the excuse “I don’t have enough time,” and the rest of those “no time” reasons. It especially comes into play when working out is supposed to happen. I’m usually good about time management with working out and making time for other things I have to do during the weekend, but it took my boyfriend leaving for work for a month to realize how much time I actually have.

Before my boyfriend left for work, my weekend routine sounded like this: wake up, workout (if it wasn’t a climbing day), shower, eat, and do whatever else I had to before seeing the boyfriend. On days I stay at his house, I usually wouldn’t work out unless I did it before driving to his place, and sometimes it still wouldn’t happen. He’s been falling off the workout wagon recently, so if I’m with him, I might follow suit, which started to get to me a little, knowing I was doing that to myself. He does by no means tell me not to workout, so I’m not blaming him at all. I’m blaming myself for hindering my process. That’s why I posted about Sticking To Your Commitments a few weeks ago. This is part 2 of that post.

The weekend he left, was when I started that commitment, and I did really good with it too. I woke up, and after moving around a little, I worked out. I’ve mainly been doing Bodyrock, and I love it because they’re high-intensity workouts that are all less than 30 minutes. I had things to do and take care of all weekend, but I managed to workout 2x both days. Sunday along with my am workout, I went climbing with a coworker. I felt really good about the weekend as a whole, especially because I used my time wisely. That week went just as well, even working 2 extra hours each day. I reversed my workout plan, and got up before work to get my workouts in.

Just after that week was when I fully realized how much I was shorting myself because of my time spent with Kyle. I guess I was convincing myself that even though there was time, there really wasn’t. I have no doubt in my mind that if I stay at Kyle’s one day, he’d be fine if I said I wanted to get a quick workout in before we start our day. He might even join me if he feels motivated which would be awesome because we have worked out together in the past, that was something I really enjoyed.

I had no plans on visiting kyle while he was working, but then an opportunity came up that I couldn’t say no to. One of the other crew members’ wifes was flying to see him for a week, so Kyle suggested that I fly with her as well, and while they work during the week, myself and the wife can keep each other company. I thought it was a great idea, but I didn’t want that to hinder my workout plans; which it most certainly did not. About an hour after breakfast each morning, I got my Bodyrock on; I believe there was 1 or 2 days that I worked out twice, because they were still at work. I was so proud of myself that even on vacation I found time. Now if I was on vacation with just Kyle, I would force myself to find time as well.

You can ask GM, or any close friend that knows me when I was bigger. I played softball and soccer, and those were my only workouts. I had no desire to workout when I was in middle or high school. I ate what I wanted, and didn’t do anything about it; I don’t remember if my parents tried to get me to lose weight either. I couldn’t even begin to tell you what a burpee or mountain climber was. I took Metabolife in high school for about 2 years, and I did lose weight, but not naturally. Playing soccer and softball didn’t help much because those were only 2-3 days a week, and even though I worked hard in both, it wasn’t enough to warrant a drastic change. The Metabolife did and I lost 40 lbs. my senior year and felt great, but I didn’t want to swallow pills to see the weight come off. It took me a couple more years to start doing more than just talking about it, but I finally got there.

Now when I workout between breaths, I tell myself things that I can also manage in 1 breath. I keep saying “push, don’t stop,” “I’m bettering myself,” and things like that. Anything to keep me going and do it with purpose. I’m back home from visiting Kyle, today and tomorrow are rest days because of a friend’s graduation. I will resume Monday with the same purpose and intensity. Where I am now is 10 times better than I was even 5 years ago, and I want to keep it that way.

3 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    … and I’m so proud of you for the changes you’ve made and have maintained!!! ❤

  2. Michelle S. says:

    i loooove the kitty picture!

  3. countrykay says:

    They say maintaining is just as good is not better then making it to your goal, GO YOU!! 🙂

Leave a Comment

