I have found in the past few weeks the more the TV is on, the more a person gets discouraged! Truly!! I was sitting at my desk the kids were all still sleeping and commercial after infomercial about this wonder drug or this wonder exercise equipment and all the endless ‘stories’, (I use that term lightly as we never really know if they are real people are not) “I lost 30 lbs in the first month with…”, “I’ve lost 50 lbs in 3 months with…”, My particular favorites are the “after losing 100 pounds” and they don’t even look like the same person. I have to say I wish I knew where these people really are after 6 months with this product or if they even continued to use the product or if they even used the product to begin with and aren’t actors.

Listening to that day in and day out is discouraging! I’m not gonna lie I’ve been working at this since January, slow going but still going & I’ve lost 34 lbs in last 4 months with only 4 of those lbs being in the last month… Life is hard, I don’t have time to drop everything and exercise 4-6 hours a day. Not to mention most ‘healthy’ food, fresh vegetables and such are expensive for a family that feeds 5 & sometimes more. Living in a small community you really never know who will show for supper, you always make a little extra ALWAYS!  There is always a mouth hungrier then your own. (there goes me being a Mom again always teaching & training)  P.S.  I ❤ all my extra house guests ALWAYS!!

So… for me it’s easier to turn off the TV and focus on reality & MY reality. I see the pictures of myself, I notice my clothes don’t fit anymore. Heck I put on my favorite (and smallest) pair of shorts for Sammy’s Field Trip last week and literally had to put a belt on because they fell right off my hips when I walked.

I’m not saying that these things don’t or won’t work, I’m all for trying things, equipment things. I do not like to put ‘diet/body altering drugs’ of any kind into my body that is going to alter my body chemistry in any way. Especially things that mess with your metabolism. I would say if you want to try things like that I’d talk to your health care provider first. I guess my biggest fear with trying things is are you still going to  be using it in the months to come or is it just going to become a place to hang clothes or gather dust. Same with the pills and ‘drugs’ are you going to still want to shell out the money once you’ve reached your goal weight because without them your body won’t know how to react to the things you are consuming. It’s this endless cycle of not knowing, I’d rather know personally.

With that being said I haven’t used any special drug, or any special diet, or any special exercise equipment. Truthfully, my diet contains whatever is on sale (give me a break, I’m a Mom with a house of 5, 3 of which are growing boys), & my equipment consists of a nap mat I bought for my 6 yr old son years ago for $3 and a gravel road in the country. Anyone can choose to change their stars, anyone can choose to change their eating & exercise lifestyle for the better. It truly takes one foot in front of the other.  So.. turn off the TV and start focusing on your reality and start thinking positive!

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

One response »

  1. s_cin says:

    Everyone’s in need of a little positive reinforcement!

Leave a Comment

