While surfing through FB the other day I came across this photo and at first was almost immediately drawn to it, while being completely out of the ordinary it’s not something seen on the normal News or media feed because like it says right on it, it’s considered ‘ugly’.

My other reason for being drawn to it, is it’s a self-confidence issue that I have a really hard time with. Being a Mom and carrying “Mom” scars and marks have made me self-conscience about the clothes that I wear.  Which is hard after being a young, very small teen and young adult that wore bikinis and belly shirts… NOT anymore!! For sure!!

I hate that the social media has created this terrible idea in our heads of perfection, a perfection that is merely impossible to achieve and I find this sickening to me as I watch my BEAUTIFUL beyond compare youngest sister struggle to fit into her friends clothes and practically starve & exercise herself to a point where I pray for her health. I’m SO glad she has me to help her realize not all of us will ever be ‘perfect’ in the eyes of the media, even the ones portrayed as perfect are airbrushed. I’m a  photographer I myself use airbrushing tools on some of my portraits, I’m guilty as the rest.

So… this is for Alisa my baby sister, you are BEAUTIFUL! in every way and I’m accepting my ‘beaty marks’ (no airbrushing promise).
This is a re-make of the photo I saw on FB with my own “Mom” imperfections.

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

7 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    I love it and I love you for making your own image! ❤

  2. countrykay says:

    Thanks GM, it was hard… I was afraid to post it but I’m glad I did 🙂

  3. I am utterly moved by this blog!!! Thank you so much! Cheers to Moms with extra special Mommy Love Marks!!!!

  4. Michelle S. says:

    you are amazing. i am so proud of you. i can barely contain myself.

  5. wildncrazygurl says:

    Wow! Beautiful!!

  6. countrykay says:

    ~ Thank you Christine M., Cheers to Moms & their Beautiful Marks!!
    ~ Michelle Thank you, thank you, thank you ❤ Truthfully, it's
    hard to read the poem without tearing up because it's so true!!
    ~ Cassie Thank you 🙂

  7. s_cin says:

    Great idea to post on this. I love it!

Leave a Comment

