DSC_8087My biggest issue with being a mother is ‘remembering’; i.e. remembering to pick up this or that at the store, remember that Sam needs this for school or remembering I need to pay this bill for the farm or this bill for the house or I need to remember that Jimmy & Sammy have t-ball on Tuesday and Thursday and Daniel has a Doctor appointment on Wednesday & I have a set of baby pictures to shoot Friday… I carry all of this in my brain everyday along with all the knowledge and responsibility of trying to be prepared, over prepared and ready for anything life or my children can throw at me.  So as you can imagine some days remembering my name is AMAZING!! Men would just not make good mothers I’ve decided, don’t get me wrong my husband is awesome, he helps me a lot but often time I feel like I just can’t do it all, let along REMEMBER everything that needs to be done. I have this plate that’s piled to the sky so how do I manage to remember things??

Well… as an early teen I felt myself losing focus easy during class and falling behind, forgetting things like homework assignments, projects & such. So I’ve decided I have what would probably be diagnosed as a mild form of ADD & after meeting my brother who is ADHD and my birth mother who is ADD I’d say my thoughts are more than likely correct. However, as a young teen with no family medical history I was forced to learned to focus and work my way through things, my biggest help was taking notes in class and making LISTS! I now have little pads of paper everywhere.  I keep a pad of paper on the fridge for store list, I keep one at my desk for photo deadlines, and things I need to mail like bills or contracts. I keep a pad of paper on my craft deck to write notes to myself to remember things to do for others. I also have a list of birthdays & events on my craft desk that I make cards for & I keep several calendars that keep my appointments and have alarms and such. My desktop calendar is color coded by person and sometimes event, it’s really rather OCD but it helps me to remember.
I also use funny word plays and little things to remember. For example to remember the orders of the letters on a compass, when I was in grade school I learned the phrase ‘Never Eat Shredded Wheat’ which if read from left to right in clockwise circle would be the 1st letters of each direction on the compass.  In middle school math I learned the proper order of operations when doing equations, ‘Please Excuse My Dear Aunt Sally’ which would represent Parentheses, Exponents, Multiplication, Division, Addition & Subtraction, and Yes! after 15+ years I still remember that!! There are A LOT of other things & tools I use to help me as well but with saying that I saw this note on Facebook (thanks Alicia H.) this morning & thought HOW HANDY! I could totally USE this to remember what I should be eating vs. what I might be eating! So I’m passin git on to help you’all out!
I should also note that good diet and exercise help with MEMORY!! True Story! 🙂

GOOD LUCK Remembering!!

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

One response »

Leave a Comment

