Day 2: The 300 rep challenge (click for video)

Way to intimidate the masses with the first day workout, BR. All of that aside, I’m glad that there are shirtless dudes in the videos as well, since change is always good. I have no idea who this is in the video, but I’m sure I’ll know his name by the end of it all.

Today I was presented with a problem. Namely, I don’t have a sandbag. It was no big deal for me to buy the interval timer, but I don’t want to rush into buying everything they’re using until I’m sure I love the workouts. The Sandbag costs about $100, and the equalizer (used for the abs workout at the end) is also around $100. So, I improvised:

Pictured here in Exhibit A is my Budo bag, with all of its contents on the floor beside it. The pink sandbag that BodyRock uses looks a LOT like this bag in its construction, and that’s where I got the idea from.

My Budo gear isn’t quite heavy enough (it’s mostly clothing), so I took all of it out and contemplated what I could use to emulate the sand that must be in the sandbag.

On the BR website, they mention using 1kg bags of rice to fill the bag, and how excellent that is, since they can take weight out or add it as needed, and they never deal with any spillage. That’s a great idea, and I’ll be going to the Asia Market later today, most likely spending LESS THAN $100 to fill the bag. I might even bring the bag with me… But for today, BEFORE I head out, I needed something to pass off.

As a note, BR also mentions in the video that using a kettlebell or regular free weights will also work if you don’t have the sandbag.

I had my own idea:

I KNEW keeping this book would come in handy one day!!

Just kidding, I actually still read this thing for fun, and it was helpful in college, as I went to art college and all. But for those of you not in the know, this is the almighty Gardner’s Art Through the Ages, and it is textbook numero UNO for Art History students, along with its competitive counterpart, Jensen’s. This book was a total bitch to carry anytime, as it weighs 3.7kg, or 8.15lbs. Imagine carrying it to and from YOUR APARTMENT OFF CAMPUS for one class. Yeah.

So although I WILL be buying a minimum of 10 1kg bags of rice tomorrow, I’m going to use this book as my standby. Because honestly, I eat rice like it’s going out of style. So I’ll have to refill the bag often, in between Budo days. I’ll try not to do that, and just keep the rice as rice. I agree that rice is the much better option against actual sand.

One thing I decided to do was to ALSO add some clothes to the bag, because I’m kind of AR and HATE when shit is sliding around or chafing… the clothing kept the book in place and from sliding all over the inside of the bag. It was good. The bag’s final weight: 14.1 lbs.

I did my run and then used the budo bag to complete my 300 rep workout today, and it went well enough: I think rice in the bag is going to go better, since I was getting annoyed feeling the edges of the book against my arms for the Clean and Press exercise.

The exercise today took me 30:44 to complete. And then 3 minutes for the ab exercises that followed. Overall, it was a good workout although it was slightly intimidating… 300 reps? I can’t believe I just did that.

The abs workout at the end felt like the most brutal part of all, it was really hard for me to get through it. I started out trying to do the three moves with an incline against my sofa, but that was a pain in the ass, so I just switched to doing them on the floor. I have no problem telling you that I had to rest for these.

I’m happy to have made it through today. Tune in for tomorrow’s update!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

4 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    yay!!!! I’m so proud of you!!!!!!!! alirght, it’s on for me.

  2. germanymarie says:

    thank you! It was really so much easier than I thought it would be, even if I was kind of bored by the time I got to the 7-rep section! After that it was just easy!!

    Oh, and nips McGee’s name is Sean Light: http://www.facebook.com/SeanLightBodyRock.TvHost

  3. s_cin says:

    nice improvising. good thing I brought that book w.me 🙂

  4. […] me after 1 week and I was amazed. The progress is just awesome. So proud of her for getting past Day2 (crazy rep day). I really want to do BodyRock, but I also really want to get into running. I keep […]

Leave a Comment

