I’ve been back for two weeks now, and I haven’t been able to do much of, well, anything.

It started in the days just after I arrived home: the serious jet lag. It took me almost a week to get over that aspect of traveling and back onto a normal sleeping schedule. Thankfully, that week was a lighter one for work, since a few of my classes didn’t start until THIS week.

This week, my issue has been one of ‘re-centering’, kind of. I’ve got my work schedule to deal with and some new classes have begun. I was prepared for them, but still feeling somewhat scattered from the week before. I felt like there was a lot that was left undone, whether it was paperwork or putting things away.

I’m not exactly sure how to describe what happens to me after I come back from Japan, but it’s been the same both times: I come back and the contrast between my life here and what I had/did/learned in Japan is so strong that it takes me a while to get back into the flow of my normal life. I’m not depressed, although it feels that way a little bit. It’s more like having to come down from some kind of excellent high, but without all of the bad side effects.

I’ve been slightly annoyed at myself the past two weeks, because I haven’t been able (or inclined, honestly) to work out in the way that I had been pre-Japan and pre-back pain. In my own defense, getting back onto a schedule and sleep pattern has been really rough, and I think I really needed these two weeks in order to be back to feeling ‘normal’.

I don’t think that taking a break now and then is such a bad thing, even though we’re all kind of programmed to think that any need for a break equals failure. In my own mind, and in my own life, it’s really important to listen to your body. So if you need a break, then you should take one. I certainly take them as needed. Today, for example, I could have gone running between my classes in the 5-hour break I had between them. But thanks to sleeping poorly last night, I fell asleep on the couch and had a mid-day nap, and then after work, I spent the leftover daylight organizing my files and course plans in order to clear my mind.

I think sometimes we just get overwhelmed with life, and need to clear our minds (and our desks) before we feel like we can make any real progress or move forward with things. That’s where I was today, BUT:

I’m definitely ready to get back on the bandwagon now. I’ve reached the point of disgust with NOT working out and am completely ready to begin. Michelle and I had a talk today and decided that we’d re-start the BodyRock 30 Day Challenge that we meant to begin before I left for Japan. Yeah, we started it, but we didn’t get very far. Life happens sometimes.

So as of today, and as of this weekend, we’re re-dedicating ourselves to the plan to get through the 30-Day Challenge. My personal plan is to take a run on Saturday, and then re-do the BodyRock fit test on Sunday. On Monday, I’m back into working out full-swing, no questions and no excuses. I’ve only got 6 classes next week and I have a LOT of free time between them.

I honestly can’t wait to get back to it. I miss the confident high that comes from working out regularly. It’s definitely been missing from my daily routine. I’ll be glad to have it back.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

3 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    it’s Saturday!! (oh, and I ran on the treadmill last night to a kick ass playlist. looking for inspiring songs if you have any recommendations) BodyRock today baby! xoxo

  2. countrykay says:

    I know that my rest time comes with my cycle, there are just days that I can’t do much of anything at that time of the month, ugh! It’s so frustrating but I’m all about listening to my body rather then pushing myself too hard.

Leave a Comment

