It’s that time of year,  Planting Season!   Friday the weather called for rain so I got up early went for my run and decided I’d plant the garden and let mother nature do the watering.  For once in my life something I planned WORKED out perfectly.  Truly as a mother with 3 little ones that rarely happens. LOL!  So as of Friday, the garden is planted & the tags are in the ground & we are just waiting for things to grow 🙂  I still have some little seedlings that I need to plant but I’m hoping to get that done today.

Entire Vegetable Garden, planted & strawed.

Yesterday, I had stayed up late the night before working on finishing up some maternity pics for a client, I think I fell into bed at 1 a.m..  I am SO not used to staying up that late and then getting up at 6 a.m..  Tuesday is my ‘toning’ workout day and I usually do some kind of toning like exercise indoors. This is so I can sleep in till 6 a.m. 3 days a week (if you include Saturday), 

Every Good Farm House has a Porch Dog 🙂

otherwise I’m up at 5:30 a.m. or earlier every day.  At any rate after being up so late the night before I was really struggling with wanting to do anything but sit & usually if it’s a self-indulgence I’m better about getting motivated after a late night. For example, staying out at night with friends eating and have a few drinks I’m more apt to kick my own but and get busy but since this was ‘work’ related I feel differently and just couldn’t get motivated.  I had decided after lunch an aerobics DVD was going to be my plan.  However, after lunch my Dad brought the shelf for my porch he’d made to put my house plants out on & before I knew it I was cleaning off the porch & carrying house plants outside.  Which turned into planting plants in the yard and weeding and laying down straw & before I knew it I had been out 2.5 hrs and I had worked up a great sweat and got my heart rate up and really hadn’t even tried. I was just doing things that I would have done otherwise. 

Which brings me to this point, Gardening is SOO great for you, on SOOO many levels. I pulled up some articles online (Fitness & Gardening & Gardening is Good Exercise) that talk more in-depth about gardening and exercise but the gist of both were how it’s so good for you on so many different levels.
Examples:
– Gets you outside and breathing fresh air
 you a good work-out, women in general can burn up to 300 calories with an hour of moderately strenuous gardening activities
– Gives you great healthy organic / fresh vegetables to eat
– Gives you great mental health as you find something to care for.

The list goes on and on of all the wonderful things that come from gardening. I was pretty new to ‘gardening’ when I moved to the Mid-west but my husband stayed on me for years to weed and plant and such, weeding was the WORST and I hated it. It just always seemed so hard and overwhelming. However, I’ve found after starting all of this fitness ‘stuff’ I enjoy it so much more! It doesn’t seem like a task I can’t handle or that overwhelms me anymore, its more of a task I look forward to & look forward to saying I made this salad or canned this salsa & all the ingredients were grown right here on the farm.

I will also recommend reading Bird & Blooms April/May 2012 Issue on Cardboard Gardening (page 24-31), if you’re like me you are a gardener on a budget this opens up great new ideas for making an area for gardening or making new pots out of old cardboard boxes or using recycled cardboard as a ground cover to keep weeds at bay & EVERYone has cardboard lying around.  This is my Lambs Ear plant & I used some cardboard that came as packaging in some of my new scrapbooking stuff recently to lay around it to help keep the weeds away.

Cultivate Good Health,

Cultivate The Earth,

Cultivate a Good Life,  

Cultivate Love.

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

One response »

  1. countrykay says:

    I miss my porch dog 😦 but I have a new one in training 🙂 Can’t wait to start planting!!

Leave a Comment

