I started Bodyrock last week, but haven’t done it since. Well, that’s not true. There was a 2nd attempt but I was interrupted by a crying 15 month old, who is now sick with a low-grade fever and stuffy nose. I’m still working on overcoming my distaste for all things snotty (and poopy).

But, I digress. We have just been so busy. This past weekend we spent pretty much the entire weekend traveling between Richmond, VA and Abingdon, MD. Before that, I was running around trying to finalize things for a party we had at the house and house guests.

plateauI’ve reached another plateau, I realized, now that I’ve been consistently weighing in at 120 lbs for the last few weeks. I’m happy with this weight. I’ve said all along that it’s not about the actual number to me, but has always been about feeling stronger and being healthy. It doesn’t matter how much I weigh if I can’t keep up with my kid when he’s running circles around me. I know people who are really tiny, but have no athletic ability or can barely keep up because they don’t have the energy.

I still want to continue with the Bodyrock exercises. And, when GM and I started that challenge, we knew we would never complete it in 30 days. We both managed to get through our initial fitness tests so that is a great jumping off point for comparison after she returns from Japan and I kick up my cardio.

Cardio. The word I dread. I have always hated it. I hate to sweat. Even though sweating is exactly what you need to be doing when you’re focusing on cardio. That’s how you know you’re burning calories and shedding excess weight.

Still. I hate it. But I’m going to do it. I am determined to run. Eventually.

I know that I can’t just start off by running. I need to slowly work up to it. Anything worth doing is worth doing right, right?

I’ve got a few options to choose from. We have a couple of ideas for running/cardio on our Pinterest Board: Workouts We Will Try! and I also have a program from a book I had started reading (before I put it down to read Parenting books and The Hunger Games). It’s called “Run Your Butt Off!” and it has some really great tips and info on running and specifically how to get into running or pick it back up after taking a hiatus.

Then, there’s always the couch to 5k that GM and Kamay did a few months ago. They both had success with that program, so I haven’t ruled that out.

I need to figure out how I’m going to include the cardio into my daily schedule. I can’t just go for a walk/run during the day. I have to take G-man in the jogging stroller, which is fine except that to jog you have to lock the front wheel, but then it’s really hard to steer around corners. My neighborhood is full of winding roads. I could also by myself when Matt gets home, but I really enjoy the time outside with the 3 of us and whatever kids join us in the court.

There’s always the treadmill, but I would much prefer to be outside. Though, if I’m on the treadmill I can jack up my music and not worry about being hit by someone was texting rather than driving. Seriously people, put down your phones! At the very least, only use them at red lights when you’re not actually operating your car for a few seconds.

So, decisions decisions. I know cardio is going to help me tone and that’s exactly what I want to do. I’ve already built up my muscle. My arms are definitely stronger. I can do 10 push ups in good form without taking a break. I could barely do 2 when I started the 100 pushups program a few months ago. You can actually SEE my muscles. It’s pretty awesome and yes I totally flex them to see how they look. If that makes me vain, so be it.

I also need to work on that little bit of flabbiness left over from being pregnant. I have come to terms with the fact that it may never completely go away, and that’s ok. I had a freaking baby and it’s pretty cool that my body could do such a thing, so I’m not going to beat myself up if it left me with a reminder of my feat. I’m still puzzled about the fact that I never got any stretch marks. My belly was ginormous! Good genes, I guess.

Bodyrock is not over. It is just being put aside to focus on cardio. This is also a good time since GM is in Japan becoming even more of a badass ninja. 🙂 We can both pick up Bodyrock when she gets back. It definitely helps having a partner when you’re doing a fitness challenge so you can talk each other through workouts and share encouragement. So, to be continued on that…

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

3 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    I am SO ready to do it as soon as I get back!! ❤

  2. s_cin says:

    The Jump the Jiggle routine is really good cardio wise too! It’s always nice to have you time. Try going out for a run when hubby gets home, and see how you feel. If you don’t like it, maybe Matt can control the stroller while you’re running free handed. 🙂

  3. countrykay says:

    The Jump off Jiggle Routine was really hard on my knees but it was really good cardio, I think you are doing what all Moms do focusing on the G-man is the mot important the rest kind of falls in line and most Mom’s put themselves on the back burner always. I get up at 5am to run so that I don’t have to take the boys with me, I don’t even own a jogging stroller, I’m not even sure it would work on the gravel road?! Look at your schedule and see where you can make some little tweeks or changes to help you in the long run. I recomend the Couch to 5k to anyone it was awesome 🙂 Just talk tot he hubby and tell him this is something you want to do and you need his help, he’s been supportive so far, I thinkhe’d understand 🙂

Leave a Comment

