Every problem I’ve ever had with my back has been between L1 and L4. It’s often, in fact, L4 that acts up.

I thought when I woke up yesterday, that my back just hurt because I’d slept wrong on it. I went about my business in a little bit of pain, taught a class and came home. When I got home, my plan was just to lay around on the couch and then do some stretching to try to loosen up the  muscles and ease the pain.

An hour later, I tried to get up to go to the bathroom, and I couldn’t stand up straight because of the pain. I had to crawl to the bathroom instead.

So I called my office and asked them to cancel my class, and then called my boyfriend to tell him I wouldn’t be training that night. I took a bunch of painkillers and tied to get comfortable. Even the stretching wasn’t helping.

René brought me home some heating pads and we decided that I’d have to go to our friend, the Orthopedist. So this morning I canceled my class and we went. The poor guy, today’s his birthday and we’re driving me to the doctor. Lames!!

As it turns out, I’ve slipped a disk back there (L4) and it’s pinching a nerve. The doctor moved me around a bit and lessened some of the pain, and gave me some painkillers via injection (ouch!!). I was sent home with a prescription for painkillers and physical therapy, which includes mud packing, massages and probably some really slow yoga moves. I HATE the slow yoga moves although I know that they work!!

And of course, today is the day that both my cooling vest AND the new Yoga DVD arrived in the mail, and I can’t even use them! As it stands I’m out of commission for at least another week. It’s going to be SO hard to sit around and do nothing, especially when I’ve got the trip to Japan coming up and I should be preparing. But I guess this is my body telling me to take it easy. I was doing a LOT. On the upside, I’ll be able to really focus on my eating and to make sure I’m doing it right. On the downside, ugh!! No working out! I can’t do anything at the moment that doesn’t hurt, since it’s all attached to my spine and every movement hurts.

So expect to see some theory and philosophy posts from me in the coming week as I start to get better. But that’s what’s going on with me right now!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

One response »

  1. countrykay says:

    I know all about your body teling you to slow down. Hope all is going better.

Leave a Comment

