One of the links on the “Fitness To Do List” is a website called Bodyrock.tv . I had never heard of it before, and didn’t check it out right away, because I wanted to do some other workouts first that I had already planned to do. About a month later, I was getting bored with everything I was currently doing, so I gave it a go, and entered the world of Bodyrock.

I have to say, I was a little intimidated, because a lot of the photos posted on the site kind of gave me the wrong impression. There are 3-4 girls and a couple guys who are in the photos and videos. And they’re all in great shape as you can see above. Some of the poses the girls were in were a little more than showing how fit they are, and I’m still curious why they’re shot like that. But I’m not easily offended, so I started browsing. I really didn’t know where to begin, because there are a TON of workouts you can choose to do, but the great thing is all of them include a video so you make sure you do the moves right. The other perk is all the workouts are between 15-25 minutes! SCORE!

The main part of every workout is an interval timer. You do so many rounds of 20 seconds of work, followed by 10 seconds of rest, or 50 seconds of work followed by 10 seconds of rest, and so on. You could use your cell phone timer or watch, but I chose to spend the measly $20 for the Gymboss Timer via the website. Depending on the workout(s) you choose to do, you might need or want to get the other equipment. If the sandbag is included in the workout, you could opt to use a set of weights instead.

I wasn’t sure if I wanted to go all out or play it safe, but there really is no playing it safe with anything you do on this site. Even the challenges give you a run for your money. I decided to do the “Fit Ass Challenge” first. 200 reps scared me, but then 100 reps of a squat, followed by a step-up onto a chair followed by a leg lift, didn’t seem too bad. Boy was I wrong. Essentially the challenges you do as fast as you can. I started feeling the muscle soreness halfway on Leg 1. I hadn’t even started Leg 2 yet!

I managed to finish the challenge in 18:24 seconds, 2 seconds faster than 1 of the girls’s first attempts. I was damn proud of what I had just done, not to mention I felt the sweat drip off my armpits and neck. I knew I got a good workout, because for the next 2 days, I couldn’t workout; I was that sore. I knew I wanted to do a workout now, not just challenges. After looking through 2-3 pages, I chose to start off month 1 with “The One That Got Away Workout”, mainly because all I needed was the timer. The timer is also very easy to setup using the directions.

This workout is only 7 minutes long with the bonus 3 minute interval. The first interval is 4 minutes of Mountain Climbers followed by Split Lunges, with 8 rounds of 20/10 (20 seconds of work and 10 seconds of rest). Basically, you do each move 4 times. The bonus interval is 3 rounds of 50/10 of Plank Butt Squeeze, Plank, and Reptile Pushups. Again, I watched the video to make sure I was doing the moves right and in order. After I was done, I was breathing a little hard, but I felt like I could do the whole workout 1 more times since it was so short.

I am feeling some soreness from doing it yesterday, but not sore enough where I couldn’t do my workout for today. I really enjoyed doing it, and next month, I’ll do a new workout 2-3 times a week for some more muscle confusion. If you can put up with constant working out with different moves and not as much rest as you’d usually give yourself, try any workout or challenge on this website. You can always pause your timer if you want more rest, but try to push yourself as hard as you can. Hopefully you’ll enjoy the site and whichever routine you choose.

3 responses »

  1. martha84 says:

    Great review! I’ve been hearing a lot about that website lately and now I’m totally tempted to do a little supplemental cardio with it! Thanks for some input!

  2. germanymarie says:

    great job!! I love my timer, I got mine in pink (of course:)! I’m excited to do these once I get back to being able to walk:)

  3. MJ says:

    This is great. I’ll use these sites for work outs. It’s just “Do It” for me. Very helpful.
    I guess LMFAO is on the playlist. 🙂

Leave a Comment

