Hi there! Sorry we’ve all been MIA, life just got in the way for all of us!

But I’m back, at least, for a few days and have an interesting update.

I mentioned in a few earlier posts that I’ve been having problems recently understanding how I could be doing so well fitness and endurance-wise, but not dropping any weight. I have been eating really well for the most part, and I thought that I was eating too much.

So one day, I got online after talking with Michelle and did a search: I wanted to see if maybe I was exercising ‘too much’. I mean, in the grand scheme of things, I feel like I exercise enough… but I wondered if maybe doing as much as I was was pushing it, although I have done MORE in the past (I used to be at the gym every morning for about 2 hours before work!), I thought maybe there might have been something to see. But there wasn’t.

After that, I took Michelle’s advice and decided I’d track my food for the next day. There was kind of no other option.

I was shocked with what I found. Since moving to Germany, I’ve taken up something called ‘mindful eating’. This basically means that I eat when I’m hungry, don’t eat when I’m not, and if I’m having a craving, I drink water first.

I took this screen shot just before eating dinner, which only gave me an extra 300 calories. I’ve been starving myself.

I don’t mean that I’ve been hungry. I certainly haven’t been!! I just mean that my body hasn’t been getting enough food (less than the recommended minimum) and therefore had gone into what’s commonly referred to as ‘starvation mode’. When your body goes into starvation mode, it starts to store EVERYTHING and generally won’t burn anything, even for workouts. It leads to feeling listless, easily fatigued, etc. You may not be hungry, but your body is. And because of this, you won’t lose the weight even if you’re working out a LOT.

So, great. I’m glad I figured this out. I didn’t work out that evening as I should have, because I was actually feeling kind of out of it. I’ve been feeling that way a lot lately, and now I’m wondering if THIS is the reason why, rather than being MS-related (which was what I was chalking it up to).

I made sure to make up for it today, I ate over 1600 calories because I was feeling ill after a night out last night and wanted to fill up. I’ll be back to something close to normal tomorrow and have a full workout planned. I’m feeling better now that it’s almost bedtime, of course, so I hope that’s a good sign for tomorrow!

That’s what’s been going on with me. I’ve got plenty more to write, promise! Happy Weekend!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

3 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    I’m so glad you were able to track your calories. I know a lot of people who hate to do it, but I swear (and thanks to you) it is so telling. I did the same thing and realized I was barely eating 1000 calories a day. I literally struggled to eat enough, but I thought I was over-eating! It’s amazing how our minds trick us and also how our metabolism slows so much that we are rarely hungry. PLUS, if you’re exercising, you’re creating a calorie deficit. That’s what I love about these calorie trackers! Good for you! Now, get that metabolism back up and running (which will be in NO time since you’ve been exercising) and I bet the weight will start falling off.

    I think that’s how I lost that 5 lbs. I increased in my food intake during the day. nibble nibble! 🙂 xo

  2. […] honestly, I’m still feeling a little down and under the weather, and I want one more day of eating the right amount of food before I go trying to burn it all off, you know? So I think I’m going to allow myself another […]

  3. Bex says:

    I log on calorie counter on about.com, it gives you a grade on what your eating. Which nutritions you need more or less of, how much burned with exercise and food.

Leave a Comment

