We all have highs and lows. Days when the sun is shining just the right way. The air is fresher and life is just good. Sometimes you wake up and it’s just rainy and dreary outside and the gray day makes you want to crawl back into bed for a few more hours of sleep.

I read the Facebook statuses of my friends and I think I’m accurate when I say that we all go through it. Some friends are more vocal about it than others, but I think we all have ups and down during any given time.

cloudyWhen you’re having one of those days where you are feeling like crap and dreading your workout,  whatever it may be. Give yourself a break. Give yourself permission to take a day off. Take two if you need to. You will know when it’s time to get back to your routine. I’m not saying you should do this for a long period of time or every day, but sometimes we just need a break. A time to rest.

You set yourself up to fail if you pretend like you can be perfect all day, every day. The key is to keep those days at a minimum. Don’t let your goal fall out of  sight. Pick yourself back up and get back to it.

I am always reading about exercise being good for the mind. When you increase your physical activity, your body releases more endorphins. That makes you naturally happier and boosts your mood. The nice part about a fitness challenge like 100 pushups or C25K, is that you have goals that you will want to hit. Tonight, I am going to do 33 push ups. I’m determined to reach 100 or get as close as I possibly can (time frame undetermined…)  😉

Since we started this website, I have lost 5 lbs and am at the weight that I was when I was 26. I’m a small person to start with, so 5 lbs is a lot for me. My hips are slightly wider after giving birth, but I think that’s just a casualty of love. I like having hips and have embraced the fact that I’ll always have a “ghetto booty,” as my friend Jeffrey calls it. It runs in my family.

I respect my body so much more after having carried a baby in it. You might have overcome a serious illness or disease. Maybe you’re a cancer survivor. Maybe you  have diabetes. Whatever your reason for getting healthy, keep the image of your ideal self in mind as often as you can.

I’m having to pull my belts one loop tighter … which sucks because they are so worn in on the loop before that they have an indent. Hmmm, new belts = added to future shopping list. I have gift cards that I’ve been holding on to so I can buy new clothes when I get down to the weight I want to be. That is healthy for me to be. I’m not really concerned about the number on the scale as much as I am with how I feel and how I fit in my clothes.

I feel stronger. I have more definition in my arms and legs. I have ankles! My jeans fit looser. Which sucks because I really love the ones I’m wearing (thank you, GM) and I’m having to pull them up all the time.

I eat a lot healthier. We cook 4-5 nights per week and we drink more water, less soda. We buy healthier products, too. I look at the ingredients of everything we buy. I opt for items that have fewer ingredients and more natural ingredients. I’ve also decreased my sugar intake. We don’t buy products with chemical sweeteners so we can try to be as close to natural as possible.

healthy heartWe also buy cage-free, antibiotic-free, open range, organic whenever we can. It is more expensive and that’s really a shame, but I feel better about the food I’m putting in my mouth and my child’s mouth. My husband eats healthier, too and has decided to decrease his soda intake. I must be rubbing off on him!

I have also been using Pinterest a lot and pinning recipes to try left and right. I decided I wanted to test a new recipe each week. Last week was asparagus au gratin, a Dr. Oz recipe. YUM! And, my little man liked them, too. It keeps cooking interesting and I learn to like new foods. A few weeks ago, we bought purple carrots. I love purple, but I definitely had to get over the color factor. They tasted really good. I added them to a smoothie (after cooking them, of course) and had some left over for a homemade chicken pot pie (not super healthy, but a lot better than fast food).

These are the things I changed to get fit and eat healthy. I’m not saying you have to do all of these or any of these. Pick a few things you want to change or work on and move forward to conquer those.

We still have fast food once a week. Although, I have to admit that I can barely finish a McDonald’s cheeseburger and medium fry. I can taste the difference. I haven’t been able to finish a 20 oz coke in a few months. Too sweet! I love how my taste buds have changed!

Listen to your body and your brain. If you are having a rough day or even a rough week, that’s ok. Just make sure you get yourself back up and in the game when you’re feeling better. Push forward because you are only going to be better for it.

~Michelle S.

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

2 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    This is so true and I’ve had to do this, not really because I’ve ‘wanted’ to but my body has needed a break, I can just tell. Good for you on everything, I”m so proud of you!! Keep it up 🙂

  2. This is rawesome! A great friend once told me, “A true test of character is not how you are on your best days, it’s how you are on your worst days.” So cool to read how your taste buds have changed, ya, there isn’t really anything from McDonalds that should go in your body, haha. Yours in sustainability and vibrancy!
    Katie Reines
    http://www.lifeisrawesome.wordpress.com

Leave a Comment

