So, omg, holy hell, I just finished the C25k challenge this afternoon. And it. feels. great!

Today was week 8, day 3 and it was the first 30-minute run, which worked out to a 40-minute workout since there’s a 5 minute walk on either side of the running part. I made it further than usual during the run before turning around at the halfway notification (this is majorly, majorly helpful, btw) and if I’d just ran those 2 5-minute walk segments, I’d have been done faster and officially run a 5k.

Alas, I’m not going to get ahead of myself. But it felt great to look at my pedometer at the end of it all and see 5.02k in the distance box. WINNING! And the best part of all? My average speed is up. Today I hit 7.3k/hour, whereas most of my runs have fallen to 7.0k/hr. So I’m getting faster!!

Since I can’t (and don’t really want to) go to Disneyland now that I’m finish, I’m going to keep training instead. I mentioned in an earlier post that I’d like to continue on to C2TENk training and have already found an app for that. Of course. To make this just a little more serendipitous, there’s a 10k run happening at the end of April that I’d like to try to do.

I’m going to Japan for two weeks in April, and I’ll get home and have about a week left before the run takes place. The C210k training is 14 weeks long, although the first 7 weeks are exactly the same as the C25k training. I’ve looked at my calendar, and it appears that even if I begin the C210k training on week 8 (I’ll start that on Monday, more about that later), I’ll effectively be DONE with my training the week before the 10k run happens here.

I think that’s perfect, and I think running while I’m in Japan will be a great idea. I like to run around new places, it’s a great way to see things and learn my way around. I mean, yeah, I’ll be training 2 hours each day at the dojo already and we’ll most likely want to go out and DO things after training, but I think I can arrange my (our) schedule to run on the days when we DON’T try to go out and about. Or I can wake up early and try to run before we train. We’ll see.

Either way, I’m happy that I finally hit the 5k mark today, and I can’t wait to keep going!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

2 responses »

  1. Michelle S. says:

    I am so proud of you!!

  2. countrykay says:

    ME TOO!! SOOOO, proud!! YAY!!

Leave a Comment

