I got a visit from my visitor this morning and have spent the whole day with a really rough headache. I had a lot to do today between my classes, and I figured it would be best to just let today ride and do a major workout tomorrow.

I’ve taken a few breaks in these last weeks, but today I wanted to make it count. So I did some research.

I’ve been feeling lately like I need to do SOMETHING more than just budo on my budo days, or else I need to train harder at budo. This may or may not happen, so just in case, I looked for another workout I could do on my non-running days.

Although the weekday workouts that Steph and Michelle are trying look great and hardcore, I didn’t want to try the same thing that they’re trying. Instead, I’m opting for this workout, which appears to be called The 100 Workout. So that’s what I’ll call it, too!

This seems like just enough of a workout for me to hate that I chose it. I think that’s a good place to start:) I’ll let you know how it goes. 100 jumping jacks seems scary to me, since I found 50 boring. I wonder if I’ll have to break these into sets for the first week? We’ll see!

I like that it’s all body resistance, that’s my favorite kind of workout. Instead of running for 10 minutes, though, I’m going to jump rope instead. Because I’m supposed to have resting, non-run days between my runs.

Speaking of runs, I made a decision today. I haven’t run a 5k since before some relapses, so I’m going to do a run that happens here in April, just after I get back from Japan (I’ll tell you about Japan in another post, since it’s fitness-related:). I can either do a 2.5, 5, or 10k run.

I could easily handle a 5k NOW. I might not do it quickly, but I could do it. So instead of just subsisting for the next few months until then, I decided today that after my 8th week is completed with the C25k program, that I’ll pick up right from there on week 8 of the Couch 2 10k app that I just found for my phone.

The C210k app functions almost exactly like the C25k FREE app that I got. And weeks 1-8 are pretty similar, so I literally CAN just stop using the C25k app and move right to week 8 or 9 of the C210k app.

I’m excited about this, because I’ve NEVER run a 10k. I’m not sure I’ll be able to do it, but I do know that I really enjoy running and sometimes 30 minutes doesn’t feel like enough anymore. So I’m excited to up my time and to keep going. I don’t ever plan to run a full marathon, but I think 10k is a good goal.

The best part is that I’ll be able to do this training while I’m in Japan, which happens about a month before the race. So that’ll be good, although I might have to give it a rest while I’m there since I’ll be doing so much OTHER fitness stuff anyway!

So for now, my fitness routine looks like this:

Even days: C25k/C210k, 100 push ups, Jump Off Jiggle
Odd Days: 100 Workout , Budo

And, you know. The occasional Yoga class or rock climbing evening.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

9 responses »

  1. I think you’ll do great with the 10K. The only thing sometimes that I do…I think that for some reason 6 miles is super easy and I always think in my head 5K and I run fast! And then around mile 3 it hits that I have another 3 to go! LOL But I think you’ll do GREAT!

    And I love that 100 workout! I found one almost similar http://fitfabcities.com/2012/02/07/printable-workout-the-fab-15-total-body-workout/ and its all my own resistance. I too love these types of workouts as well! And what I like about them is the fact you can always do them and mold them to your day! And they can be interchanged with other workouts!! Making it so easy and doable! 🙂

    You keep up the great work and enjoy your rest day!
    Christine

    • germanymarie says:

      I TOTALLY agree about how nice and easy it is to fit these workouts in whenever you’ve got some time. I love that I don’t need to have a real, set schedule to do them, and that they’re kind of short enough to be done at any time, anywhere!!

      Will you be doing the fab 15, or have you already started it? Please let us know how it goes if you keep with it!

      I’m excited to try this 10k stuff, but I, too, have to remember to NOT run fast at first and get worn out!!!

      • I will do the Fab 15 at some point! I’m super busy getting ready for my next yoga training so all other training I’m putting on the back burner until I get back March 4th. Then I’ll see how I feel and go from there!

        I think you’ll do great with your 10K with all the other workouts you’re doing. The great thing about running is that you really do not have to run!! When you do interval training or HIIT workouts…you’ll be utterly surprised at how you do. Now I’m not saying anyone should try running this way but it is possible. But its only possible if a person is doing interval training!!

  2. s_cin says:

    I want to try that 100 workout too, but I’m going to redo the Monday through Saturday workouts since I’ve only done Monday 😦 I plan on eventually doing a 10k as well, but haven’t started yet. Let me know how yours goes, cuz I know you’ll do awesome. I expect a picture!

    • germanymarie says:

      Well let us know how a full week of those day workouts goes, it seems intense!! I kind of want a medicine ball or a really heavy book for those russian twist things. There will be photos, I promise!

  3. Michelle S. says:

    I was just talking with a friend about signing up for a 5k so that I can get my motivation to actually train for a 5k. I think that’s my next step. Looks like C25K or something similar is in the near future. You will do great!! Then we can all compare times 🙂

    The 100 workout looks like a good one. I need to pick up one of those or finally get my butt in gear with the JM Yoga workout. Decisions!

    • germanymarie says:

      you could do all of them, or just go to pinterest every day and choose one each day and then repeat it for a few weeks and see how you feel? Just a thought!

      I miss how many 5k options there were in the DC Metro area. This is like the only one I know about, and I feel like I HAVE to do it. It’s definitely good to have the goal, so then you can’t make excuses for not training! ❤ I think comparing times is a great idea. We should keep a chart or page for that once we do a few of them!! I wonder if Kamay is interested? She's practically on 5ks by now as well!!

  4. MJ says:

    A long time ago I weight trained four times a week for several years. There was one time that, I didn’t run for a whole year. Then, the Marine Corps physical fitness test came up. All jar head reservists had to do it and pass it every year. I was only a week away and I had to perform two exercises and a three mile run. I took three days out of that week and ran only one mile each day.

    Prior to that, my workout that year included a movement in which one rep was the following: a weighted barbell lift, clean and press over head. I did 3 sets of 8 to 12 reps. I did other resistance exercises as well. I did no leg isolation movements during that year. When it came time for the test I was amazed. I knew I’d rep out pull up and sits to the max (20 out of 20 pull ups and clocked 80 out of 80 sit ups in two minutes). What really amazed me is that my three mile run was just under 22 minutes. It wasn’t that hard either. I believe that the lift, clean and press did the job for me. It did have some aerobic qualities to it; however, I didn’t realize it until then. That one exercise was the only one that I used my legs. I knew good weight training worked the whole body, but I did expect it to temporarily replace my running.

    • germanymarie says:

      THAT IS AWESOME!! What an interesting idea. I would have never thought that weight training COULD replace running, although I did notice that I ran better and harder/faster when I was also weight training.

      hmmm….

Leave a Comment

