This goes along with a previous post (It’s the Small Things), and it accounts for my progress so far. While I can’t say that my weight has changed more than a few pounds, I am very happy to say that I have ankles again!!

I noticed it the other day when I was getting ready to shower. For the last few years, I noticed that my ankles were looking more and more like an extension of my calves instead of actual ankles. When I was pregnant, my calves got bigger and my ankles were swollen. Can you say edema?

Not anymore!

Not only do I have ankles again, I had to pull my belt one notch tighter today  and I have more definition in my calves, arms and butt. I can’t tell you how many times my husband has commented on my rear. I’m really starting to enjoy the compliments.

Hard work is paying off, and that’s motivation enough to step it up and keep going. My next move is to increase my cardio. I’ve spent the last year working on building strength in my body. My core muscles in particular because ever since I gave birth, I’ve had back problems. The best thing to do to counteract using your back is building your core. I’m definitely in a better place with my core, but still have a ways to go.

Overall, I feel stronger throughout my entire body. I pay more attention to my muscles as I move around throughout the day. As my yoga instructor says, “tighten, tighten, tighten” — I now hear that in my head as I’m walking up the stairs making sure to tighten my abs.

This process, for me, was never so much about weight loss as it was gaining strength in my body. I want to be strong enough to support the weight of my growing child who wriggles around in my arms as I’m trying to carry him. I want to

be able to play sports with him when he’s older and the only way I’m going to do that is to get in shape now.

I am currently weighing 127 lbs and my waist is 29″. My weight has not changed drastically in the last so many  months, but my body is definitely stronger and my clothes fit looser. Not to mention, I know for a fact that I eat healthier and am drinking more water and a lot less soda. All steps in the right direction.

It’s important not to focus on one particular aspect of getting in shape like your weight only. Forget for a second that muscle weighs more than fat and anytime you work out and build muscle, you are potentially going to weigh MORE, but it really is about the bigger picture. How do your clothes fit? Do you see more definition in your body where you didn’t before? What are your measurements? How do you feel?

I am so excited to be seeing the progress that I am. It makes me feel more confident and it gives me even more motivation to keep going. Sure, I have bad days. I had a bad week last week where I just didn’t feel great and didn’t want to do anything. I was also PMSing hardcore, I think, so I was definitely fatigued.

The worst thing you can do, in my opinion, is to stop once you’ve begun to actually see progress. That is when you are at the turning point and you just have to push forward, kick ass and take names. That is when the real change happens. The kind that lasts long-term and sticks with you.

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

5 responses »

  1. Congratulations!! You are awesome! I’ve been going through some stuff lately! And I couldn’t help but feel down and not notice my changes…or better yet, honor my changes. But since I focused on this yesterday, today has been clear to me. LOVE! Yes I know Valentine’s was yesterday but love is always. We should always love ourselves. “We can more easily exhibit our best side when we recognize that attitude and intellect are at the root of all that is attractive.” (Daily Om) And when we realize that we hold the power to the attractiveness in us…then we can see the changes. So good for you to find the changes and not succumb to negative thoughts that you are not doing good enough. You are doing great! So keep up the great work!!

  2. germanymarie says:

    congratulations!!! I’m really happy for you! What a great post and reminder for all of us ❤

  3. countrykay says:

    YAY!! CONGRATS!! SOOO, excited for you 🙂 It’s a very good reminder for all of us, keep it up ❤

  4. s_cin says:

    Keep going mamma!

  5. […] feel stronger. I have more definition in my arms and legs. I have ankles! My jeans fit looser. Which sucks because I really love the ones I’m wearing (thank you, GM) […]

Leave a Comment

