Have you ever had this happen to you?

You’re craving something. Maybe it’s chocolate, maybe it’s ice cream, maybe it’s a ton of sex. Whatever it is, you help yourself to it, maybe go a little overboard, and then afterwards you feel really slow, full or sluggish? That was what happened to me today, and I think it must happen to a lot of people. I recognized the way my body felt today and I wanted to mention it, because I think it’s detrimental to being fit and getting or staying in shape.

I’m about 2 days away from getting my period, which means that the cravings have kicked in. During the week before my period, you’re likely to catch me eating ALL KINDS of things that I normally wouldn’t eat, because of the cravings.

My cravings are usually for chocolate, and when it’s a craving, I don’t tend to be picky. I should only eat dark chocolate since there’s no milk in it, but sometimes I find something toffee-flavored and I don’t care if it’s milk chocolate.

I think for me personally, that I get ‘chocolate sick’ after milk chocolate, and not so much after eating dark chocolate. There could be many reasons for this, such as the aforementioned milk issue, or the fact that I eat less dark chocolate in a sitting because I tend to buy more expensive dark chocolate… it lasts a LOT longer when you pay more for it, trust me!

‘Chocolate sick’ is, for me, a feeling that can last weeks if I’m eating poorly, and I notice it a lot quicker if I’ve been eating well. It feels like a lack of motivation. A sugary, full stomach. A craving for more chocolate and a disinterest in eating anything that might be LESS sweet than that.

It’s not the same as ‘lack of sleep sick’, which just means that I’m tired and blow off a workout in order to go to bed at 8pm. It’s totally different, because I feel it in my stomach, and I keep trying to fill the void there (although it’s full) with more sugary stuff.

Does that sound familiar? Do you go on week-long benders where you eat nothing but bad food, and then somehow totally lack all motivation to get your ass up to go work out? Or even worse, you work out but it’s a half-assed workout?

We’ve all got days like that, we’ve all got a cycle that our bodies follow… but if you notice that you’re lacking motivation for more than a few days, then you should think about what you’ve been eating and maybe question whether or not you’ve gotten enough sleep.

Most of us are so used to our sugary, processed diets that we don’t remember what it feels like to feel GOOD after eating: no bloating, no fatigue, no need for dessert. Once I got the taste of sugar out of my mouth and was sticking to ONLY natural sugars, the difference in my overall feeling was insane and noticeable. And after I got rid of all of the foods that I had an intolerance for, it was like I got my life back. Suddenly I had more energy than I knew what to do with, I didn’t feel terrible after eating, and I could really ENJOY eating more.

Nowadays I have a bit of a plan. It works, when I’m strong enough! If I’m craving something sweet, I drink a glass of water. If I’m still craving, I eat a piece of fruit (there’s ALWAYS a lot of fruit in my house, I go through it really fast). If I’m still craving after that, then I can have some candy. But only then!! Like I said, it really only works when I’m strong enough to do it… that’s about 75% of the time.

I looked up this chart (second image, left) today after I realized how I was feeling. I think the next time I’m craving something sweet, I’ll try follow this after the glass of water and piece of fruit, instead of just going out and buying something bad for me. I hope you do, too!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

2 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    I love this chart AWESOME!! and trust me I know ALL about needing calcium, with soda pop. I once drank almost an entire gallon of milk every day for a month because I had been drinking too much soda. I read somewhere it depletes the calcium in your bones, seriously it was crazy. I drank milk morning, noon and night for 30 days straight, it was like I couldn’t get enough of it, it was strange and as fast as it came, the cravings went. Totally odd but I haven’t drank that much soda since, it freaked me out.

  2. MJ says:

    I really like the chart also. Over the years, I found that I can no longer eat milk chocolate. Dark chocolate is still the bomb.

Leave a Comment

