pmsThis one is for the ladies. Yes, I am going to mention the word “period” and possibly talk about cramps. Men, feel free to move on if this issue bothers you. OR, feel free to read more if you have a woman in your life. It might give you some insight into her mood during a certain time of the month.

Recently, a few of us talked about how we were dragging. After chatting about it, we came to realize that we were PMS-ing. Now, I feel like there’s a stigma surrounding PMS. It seems that some people think PMS is a big joke. I’m here to tell you that, while some of us might blame our headache and not wanting to have sex on PMS (which could totally be true btw), it is a very real thing that affects us every single month, whether we like it or not. Why we would like it, I haven’t the faintest idea.

Hormones are the culprit. Well, I should say fluctuations in hormones. Our hormones fluctuate throughout the month and that can wreak havoc on our bodies.

I’ve suffered from migraine headaches for years whenever I would get my period. So, every single month, for 3-4 days at a time, I would have severe pounding headaches — often a migraine headache. I would go to bed with a headache. Wake up with a headache. Nothing seemed to help.

I also have terrible food cravings during the two weeks leading up to my period. I want to eat nothing but carbs and high calorie foods like McDonald’s and I crave soda like crazy.

During my pregnancy, I felt wonderful. Well, after the first 3 months, that is. I didn’t get sick. I didn’t have bad headaches. I did have the usual aches and pains and discomfort that goes along with your body stretching to meet the capacity of a small child living in your belly, but I did not have my usual headaches. I also didn’t have my period. hmmmmm. I also didn’t crave much, which goes against what so many people say about pregnancy.

Post-baby and after going back on the pill, the headaches returned. The cramps and back aches came back and so did the overall sluggish feeling.

I’ve recently switched to an IUD and am still a little irregular. They say it gets better after the first 3 months, so I’m trying to be patient. I use a period tracker app because I never really know when I’m going to get it or not because of the irregularity.

pms survival kitWhen I was feeling like crap and really struggling, I realized it was when I was PMS-ing. Unfortunately, it was only in hindsight that I realized this, but it will help me going forward. PMS can leave you feeling you irritable, fatigued, sluggish, hold onto extra water weight, moody and feeling all around crappy. A few days ago, I looked in the mirror as I was getting dressed and I felt like my body was bloated and like I hadn’t really lost as much weight as I thought. Two days later, I looked in the mirror and I could see my muscles and the toning that I’ve been doing.

Did my body actually change in those two days? NO! My mood had changed and that has so much to do with how we feel about ourselves. Ladies, you know when you have those so-called “fat” days and “skinny” days. We all do. Whether it’s our mood or just feeling bloated with extra water weight, it’s a good idea to give yourself another look when you’re feeling happy because your mental state can make a huge difference.

So, to draw this to a close, my point in sharing all of this personal information with you is to remind you that there are many things that are out of our control. Some of these things happen whether we like it or not. Don’t be too hard on yourself if you’re really struggling with motivation. Take a look at your surroundings and the timing of your lack of motivation and ask yourself if you could be PMS-ing. If you are, drink lots of water, maybe take a Midol (or Pamperin) and break out that heating pad for those extra stubborn cramps. Then, after you’ve acknowledged what you’re going through, get out there and do some exercise.

You will feel 100x better with those endorphins running around your body.

I know people (men, especially) crinkle their noses when we talk about our periods, but you know what … it’s a fact of life. We can choose to make the best of it or not.

By the way, if you choose NOT to, tha’ts ok, too. A little dark chocolate and a good relaxing evening never hurt anyone either. And maybe you’ll do some sit ups or push ups if you feel like it….

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

5 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    I’m so glad you posted this, I’ll copy what I posted in FB LOL! “Started my cycle yesterday – today is 1st full, heavy day – feeling pretty BLAH! still managed to just do the pinterest workout with some yoga stretching just so I felt like I did something… took it pretty slow but still managed to get my heart rate up. Hoping tommorow I’ll feel more like draggin my A** off the couch. On another note Jimmy (taz) has been down for 3 days, sick, not moved awhole lot from the couch… today he seems fine and going full throttle… so much for couch time :/ #imnotsuperwoman” Reconizing & knowing the issue is half the battle 🙂 LOVE THIS!!

  2. germanymarie says:

    As soon as I hit ‘day 14’, I feel like I’m bloated, ugly, unmotivated, too heavy, etc etc. The cravings are there, but are getting better since I stopped eating so much junk! Thanks for posting this!!

  3. Gosh I have such issues on mine. I am lucky not to have migraines or anything else that prevents me from working out…but I have such emotional ups and downs. Its terrible! These emotional ups and downs sometimes prevent me from doing anything good for myself. And then I eat poorly and do not exercise. And then sometimes these emotional ups and downs will continue well after my period is over! But since I’ve really been focusing on ‘me’, I’m allowing myself to have these emotions, but I’m not allowing them to take over my life! And since I’m doing this, I workout like normal and continue eating well with the occasional chocolate of goody snack!

    • germanymarie says:

      Hey OWT.. thanks for the comment! Does meditation help? I’m asking because I imagine that since you’re into yoga you have tried it! I often have trouble sitting and meditating, but if I force myself to think positively, I can usually come out of that negative mindset. Good job, focusing on YOU!!!

      I try to make it a point not to keep bad food in the house unless it feels like the world might end if I don’t. I had to stop buying potato chips because I was eating them too much!! ❤

  4. Michelle S. says:

    I used to freak out when I was PMS-ing and now that I know what it is, and I’ve acknowledged it, I am able to control my mood swings that much better. Even my husband will remind me and I’ve noticed my mood swings are not as extreme. It’s still hard for me to overcome the fatigue and overall laziness that I feel during that time. I literally do not want to do anything.

Leave a Comment

