DSC_0164aAs a mother of 3 I have LOTS of ‘Good Intentions’ but my follow through is lacking. Kamay BC (before children) had amazing ‘follow through’, like within a weeks time, but Kamay AC (after children) has terrible ‘follow through’, as much as I hate to admit it, maybe never sometimes.

I used to hate this quality in people especially my mother growing up as a child. It seemed she always had good intentions but her follow through wasn’t what I would accept as ‘up to par’, but after meeting my birth Mom at age 21 I realized perhaps maybe it’s just a ‘Mom’ thing and after becoming a mother at the age of 24, I regress it IS a Mom thing or simply a busy person thing.

Call it ‘Prego-brain’ or ‘Mom-brain’, I have no idea, but there’s not enough herbal suppliment for it in the world to fix it, trust me.  I was telling GM this morning that when school started in August, my nephew called and asked me to bring him his trumpet, he had forgotten it at home. 3 days later when I saw him get off the bus with his trumpet did I realize I had not only forgot to take him his trumpet I had forgotten the conversation all together. It was crazy!

Last night I’m guessing was part of the reason why I forget things or have good intentions and terrible follow through. I went to bed at 8:45ish and I read for about an hour and decided instead of reading till 10:30ish which is about normal for me, I would go to sleep an hour early because I had intentions to try the ‘Jump off Jiggle’ routine today & from what I had read it looked as though it was going to be really tough. So I quickly fell asleep, a mixture of being really tired and the drugs I had taken for my massive headache.

At 11 p.m. my 2-year-old came and got in bed with me, he hasn’t been feeling well anyway so I was hopeful he’d settle down and go right to sleep and I could carry him back to bed in a bit. I’ve decided after 3 kids, sleeping with a 2-year-old is kind of like being mauled by a bear… all night long. So, at 2 a.m. when my 1-year-old started screaming to get out of his crib, I gave up and went to the couch with the 1-year-old. He finally settled down after wallering me an hour and half and went to sleep. I however had been half asleep/awake all night and at 4 a.m. when my husband got up I wandered back to bed with the 2-year-old, who proceeded to kicking me till my alarm went off at 6 a.m. I think lack of sleep has so much to do with my ‘mom-brain’ today, however this is not the case everyday.  So my intentions where to get a good night sleep to do the jump off jiggle routine today and now I feel equivalent to a wilting flower needing a jump-start or maybe just a few decent hours of sleep.

However! I once posted about excuses so I’m going to stretch and try to do as much of the routine as I can, too bad I can’t take a nap afterwards. I’m actually hoping a shower will help rejuvenate me for the rest of the day, we shall see.
(fingers crossed for sure)

However, here’s my thoughts, Mom or not we all have good intentions and if we become aware that they are there and make an effort to have better ‘follow through’ perhaps things will change, atleast its the  first step in the right direction.  However, having good intentions and terrible follow through is VERY normal & if you are that way don’t fret,  eventually you’re good intentions will lead you in the right direction, if you let them.

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

3 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    Got about halfway through the ‘Jump off Jiggle’ Routine, it was rough, doubly rough for not alot of sleep. I’m excited however, it was hard so I will have to work on it for quite a few weeks to get through it… yay!

  2. germanymarie says:

    I’m glad you wrote this! I’m NOT a mom and I have terrible follow-through sometimes, too! You can do it! I’m glad you still did the workout today, even if it was hard. I only made it through once! ❤

  3. s_cin says:

    Love, love love this! I have horrible scatterbrain, and my boyfriend hates it, but we all do it no matter what the subject is. You’re only human 🙂

Leave a Comment

