water

Water, water and more water. That’s what I keep hearing from my husband. I’ve read that water is good for you. I even know that about 60% of my body is water. I’m pretty sure I read that 75% of my muscle is made of water. Did you know that 90% of your brain is made up of water? Squishy!

I’ve been told that allowing your body to get dehydrated causes sore muscles and constricted blood vessels. Apparently, it makes you tired and can give you a headache. Hmmm, that sounds like me.

I know that drinking more water is healthy and will only help my body function better. The problem is, I am just never thirsty!

I also know that I’m not thirsty because I don’t drink enough during the day. It’s a real effort for me to drink water during the day. I hear we are supposed to drink 1/2 of our body weight in ounces of water. So, I’m about 130lbs and that means I should be drinking at least 60 oz of water a day or almost eight 8-oz glasses of water. Some days, I’m lucky if I get 20 oz of water a day!

Last week, GM and I tried the Jillian Michaels Cleanse that we found on Pinterest. It’s a very easy cleanse, with 3 ingredients: cranberry juice, lemon juice and dandelion root tea. I had to order the tea on Amazon, but I’m sure you could find it in your local Whole Foods or something. I bought lemon juice, but I also bought whole lemons so I could see if the fresh lemon juice made a difference. I don’t think it matters, though fresh is generally better.

The cleanse actually tasted pretty good. Lemon with a slight tangy flavor. Dandelion root tea is a caffeine-free sort of “coffee substitute” and I found that I wasn’t dragging all day, dying for a nap, if I started drinking the cleanse first thing in the morning. It didn’t feel like a caffeine or sugar high. It was a very slight natural energy boost that kept me going.

Speaking of going… I felt like I peed all day long. That’s pretty tough when you have a one-year-old around. G-man was very patient with me. I know this cleanse is a diuretic, hence the cranberry and lemon … and the numerous trips to the bathroom.

I did not see any real weight loss, but maybe I am not carrying a lot of extra water weight at the moment. I felt like this cleanse was one I could do once in a while when I feel like I’m in need of a little pick-me-up. It was super easy to follow, which is a huge bonus. I’d be interested to hear about others who have lost the 5lbs of water weight and whether they kept it off.

I am suffering from cramps today. The kind that make it hard to breathe. You ladies know what I’m talking about. Anyway, I also realized I hadn’t been drinking much water (because my husband always asks me how my water consumption is) so now I’m attempting to drown myself with the hopes that I’ll be able to sit comfortably and watch the Super Bowl.

There is another cleanse I am thinking of trying with Steph, made of cucumber, lemon, ginger and mint. Check us out on Pinterest to find the cleanse I’m talking about. In the mean time, I think I’ll try the Jillian Michaels cleanse again since I already have the ingredients.

The main ingredient in these cleanses is … water. So, my goal is to drink 60 oz of water by 8pm every day next week. Wish me luck!

~Michelle S.

***

During the diuretic cleanse, I drank more water than I usually do. I could tell because of how many more trips to the bathroom I was taking, but ALSO because of the way I’d feel an hour or so later, if I hadn’t drunk enough water. I felt dehydrated.

In a lot of fitness books and magazines, one of the main rules is to drink water. A lot of it. The main reason for this is because quite often, we confuse being dehydrated with being hungry. So we eat, rather than drink, and we’re still dehydrated after that, so we keep eating. This is exactly how to gain unwanted weight.

One of the rules I’ve always tried to follow is to drink a full glass of water whenever I think I’m hungry. If I’m still hungry after that, I can eat a piece of fruit. If I’m still hungry after that, I can have something that might not be as good for me. Like chocolate. I usually don’t make it to the chocolate. I often don’t even make it to the fruit!

This week I’m trying to drink more water than I have been since stopping the cleanse.

During the cleanse, it was very easy for me to know how much water I was drinking because I had the perfect 60 oz pitcher to keep the mixture in every day. After talking with Michelle last night, I decided that I should just fill that same pitcher up with water, and leave it on my counter in the kitchen like I did during the cleanse with the goal to finish it each day: that way I’d know that I was getting at least 60 oz per day. I know I’ll go over that on work days, when I tend to drink tea and water while teaching.

I don’t know how much water I should drink. I just know this: when my lips are dry, I’m not getting enough. If I drink enough water, I don’t need lip balm.

Drink your water!

— GM

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

5 responses »

  1. s_cin says:

    Let me know when you want to do that cleanse with me; I’ll make sure I have everything in my kitchen 🙂

  2. Michelle S. says:

    Let’s start this coming Monday. I have to get the ingredients, too!

  3. germanymarie says:

    If you like it, I might try it the following week! 😀

  4. countrykay says:

    Before I start the cleanses I want to get good at just drinking 60oz of water a day. I haven’t actually been doing too bad, I find having a bottle/cup of water easily accessible in the kitchen I tend to go to it instead of snacking. As much as I hate to admit it but I think it’s easier, then digging for a snack but when I’m still hungry I do get a snack. As for drinking half your body weight in ounces of water a day… that would be about 90oz a day for me…I got 20 more ounces a day, I might go live in the bathroom LOL! I will porbably drink about 84oz by the time supper is done tonight, SMALL VICTORY!

  5. MJ says:

    So our brains squishy. 🙂

    Drink water is the first thing I write on my client’s Rx/note after I perform an acupressure shiatsu treatment. Many don’t drink any water at all except for coffee, soda and sugar stuff. More than half of my patients need to be reminded to drink water and move their body. According to them, their other health care provider never recommended it.

Leave a Comment

