This will probably be the most personal blog I will write. I know from what GM wrote in my welcome post, from what’s in my profile, and what I’ve posted so far, that I might seem like a “fitness ninja” as GM put it. I love feeling like I’m in control of my eating habits and working out, but I too sometimes get completely overwhelmed with everything that we as people have to do; that includes staying fit.

Recently, I have been really confused with all of the workouts I’ve pulled out of my fitness mags, archived in my big fitness binder, ones that I’ve found online, and from Pintrest. I also have a few DVDs and a mini home gym incase I don’t go to the gym at work. The ones in my binder I haven’t looked at for at least a year, and I feel like I can’t keep up with all of them. Not to mention making sure that the girl I sometimes workout with at the work gym gets a good workout, as do I. I know that whatever I’ve bought or ripped out or bookmarked online is a good workout, but which one do I do first, or next? Usually my weekly workout is strength training every other day since I always do a total body workout (which I’ll write about in an upcoming blog), and cardio AT LEAST every other day. Sometimes I’ll do cardio back to back days, but I always do intervals to get an extra burn. And being that I only do a 20 minute cardio routine, I don’t feel like I’m overdoing it.I have so many workouts I want to do, that I limit them to 1 month long so I don’t get bored, and to keep my body guessing.

Because I’m climbing once a week with my boyfriend and others, I lose a day of working out since that is a workout in itself. Which I have no problem with, but I need to make sure that I’m still doing enough the rest of the week to maintain my tone and weight. I always have 1 day each week of rest, because you never want to overwork yourself; in anything. I don’t know if my workout overwhelming-ness is a seasonal thing, or if I’ve been thinking too much about it recently, and overloading my brain. I think over the past 2 weeks or so, I’ve worked out about 3-4 times out of my regular 6, and that really bothers me. I’ve also noticed that my “inner fat kid” has been coming out more on the weekends, even though I’m  excellent during the week. I wonder if that’s where this is all coming from. I honestly don’t know.

What I do know and what I’ve realized is that I’m as normal as the rest of us and am allowed to have these days of feeling this way, no matter what the topic is. But like the No Excuses post, I have to workout on the days I always do, even if I don’t want to. I’ve done it before, and I’ll keep doing it, because I always DO feel better once I’m done. No one said staying fit and keeping with it was a piece of cake (no pun intended); not even fitness gurus. It’s one of those things that the mental part of you has to work extra hard at to keep the rest of you in check, so the physical part can do what it has to do.

Now that I’ve written this and have gotten it off my mind, I’m workin’ out! Yea Buddy!

5 responses »

  1. wartica says:

    I can agree with this:) The hardest part of training , is getting going in the beginning. Once I get the body moving, I feel like I could go for days on end. Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Michelle S. says:

    I hear that. I feel like I have so many fitness challenges to try yet! That, and everything else that goes along with life in general. That’s why we have each other to help us through. 🙂

  3. countrykay says:

    My life without fitness and healthy eating is overwhelming… so I completely understand. Sometimes you have to remind yourself that it is ok to treat yourself & take it ONE day at a time but making the choice to change is the 1st step to motivation! You can do it Steph just one day at a time 🙂

  4. […] myself quite often making & keeping everyone in my life happy. Steph even posted about being Overwhelmed recently it happens to everyone. For me, it’s a natural desire as a Mom/Wife to keep your […]

Leave a Comment

