You guys are going to think I’m crazy. I’m just warning you in advance.

Today is week 5, day 2 of my Couch to 5k program, and will be week 2, day 2 of my 100 push ups challenge. The running is going well, but I’m having two issues:

1. I feel like I’m losing strength, due to not doing enough strength building exercises. Even though the earlier Pinterest trial I was doing got to be too easy, I feel less in shape now without that extra something in my routine. The push ups and crunches that I’m doing now, in its place, don’t feel like enough of a workout.

2. The 100 push ups challenge is moving too fast for me. You might recall my post from two weeks ago, in which I said that I needed to move to column 2. I’ve been in column 2 for four days, and it feels like it’s moving too fast, adding too many reps, for me to maintain my form.

If I look at this from a doctor’s POV, I could argue that the last few days have been harder for me because I’m 14 days away from my time of the month, which is when we retain a little extra water, a few extra ounces, and blah blah blah. Because I’m not sure that’s exactly the case (although the timing is pretty right-on), I’m going to let this week finish out as it started.

If, on Saturday after my workout, I still feel like these things are issues, I have a plan of attack for week 6/week 3.

1. I’ll add the (left) Jump Off Jiggle (also from Pinterest) workout to my regimen. This has a lot of plyometric moves in it that will certainly build my strength, and my knees, up. This is a full body workout that focuses on the legs, but with some arms in there as well. I feel like it would be good to do AFTER the push ups.

There are a few other workouts on Pinterest that I could do, but they all include push ups and I want to keep the push ups to the proper amount for the challenge. So until I’m done with the push ups challenge, I’ll be sticking to workouts that don’t ask me to do more push ups (even though that COULD help the push ups challenge, I’ll think about it for later!)

2. I’m thinking about adding a week of push ups BETWEEN each week of push ups, in order to up the reps I’m doing at a slower and more manageable pace. I can make my own regimen for the weeks between what’s posted to the web and on my iPhone app.

Speaking of the iPhone app, this is what I saw when I logged in to do my workout a few days ago. The first push up I did on Saturday happened to be my thousandth push up since starting the challenge. I’m amazed by that, but as you can see I’m still working on getting there.

As you can see from this image, I went from doing 25 push ups on Thursday to 33 push ups on Saturday. That’s not a huge difference, but this week’s increases have been even greater and I think I require MORE work. I don’t want to lose form just to get the push ups completed, you know?

I think it’s important that we listen to our bodies. I also think it’s important that we stop holding ourselves to the standards of others. I know what I am capable of, and I know when I need to work more on something. It might make me move slower than the people around me, but I’ll be the one doing a perfect push up while all of the others are doing half-assed push ups. I’ll let you know what I decide on Saturday! Or Sunday.

~GM

***************************

Speaking of listening to our bodies…

My experience is a bit different in that I’m frustrated with the pace at which the 100 pushups challenge progresses from day to day. I am on Week 2 of the 100 pushups challenge and I am really struggling with the fact that we increase reps so much from one day to the next. I understand that we need to increase the TOTAL number of push ups each day, but just because I can max at 6 one day, doesn’t mean I’m actually ready for 7 good form push ups.

Please notice that I said “good form” because the point of this challenge each week is to gain strength and do good, challenging push ups that engage your whole body. The goal is not to get to 100 as fast as you possibly can.

The other downfall is the smart phone app. While I find it helpful to remind me to do them, — because I forget when I’m busy running around after a 13 month old and half the time don’t know what day it is — I’m sort of dreading having to do 26 today. It just seems daunting. Last week, I was dreading Day 2 immediately after Day 1..

I keep that app on my home page, by the way, so I have to look at it everytime I check my phone.

You know, the best thing about these challenges, is that they can be tweaked. I’m going to double each week, just like GM mentioned above, so it will take me longer to reach my hundred, but I should have some kick ass biceps when I’m done.

If this idea doesn’t work and I still don’t complete this challenge, I’m going to have to move on to something else. You should only have to do so much tweaking, in my opinion, before you say it doesn’t work for you. The key is to substitute it with something!

Sometimes, it’s not you who isn’t able to complete the workout. It’s the program that is flawed or doesn’t work for you.

We shall see….

~Michelle S.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

One response »

  1. s_cin says:

    I like that you’re “listening” to your body in the challenges you do. It’s not a bad thing if you stay with a week for an extra week. Like you said, if we can’t get good form, we need to get better before moving on. Great article!

Leave a Comment

