Do you get bored on a treadmill? You are not alone. So do I.

clock

It’s not the most fun I’ve ever had, that’s for sure. I feel like I am constantly watching the time tick away and waiting for it to hit the magic number so I can go back to whatever I was doing before. Sounds like absolutely no fun, doesn’t it?!?

I’ve found a way to overcome my treadmill boredom. Stop watching the clock! You know what they say about a watched pot, right? Well, same principle applies to watching the clock. I ended up throwing a towel over the timer and exercising to music. I generally time myself by the number of songs, though I often find that the next song is too good to stop, so I keep going and end up working out longer than I thought.

My treadmill has pre-set programs, but I don’t love them so I downloaded an interval app to my phone and it changes colors when I’m supposed to run or walk. That helps to keep me from watching the clock to see when I should run/walk again. Easy!

music

Sometimes, a half hour or hour seems daunting when I have a ton of other stuff to do. But these small changes can make that time go by faster. Music is a huge element to keeping me motivated when I’m in the moment. I have to have an

upbeat playlist that keeps me wanting to dance. I rock out to artists like Lady Gaga, Justin Timberlake, Incubus, Madonna and Gwen Stefani. I cool down to Tyrone Wells, Coldplay and Dave Matthews.

If getting on the treadmill makes you want to poke your eyes out, try to change it up. Don’t count down the time until you’re done. Give yourself small goals to keep your mind off of the length of time. Focus on hitting a certain speed, doing a certain number of running intervals, burning a certain number of calories
or listening to a certain number of songs. Before you know it, you’ll be hitting those goals and more.

I cannot, however, guarantee that every time you work out you will enjoy it or want it to go on and on! Exercise isn’t always fun, that’s for sure!

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

2 responses »

  1. countrykay says:

    SO TRUE!! I love listening to music when I’m walking/jogging I tend to use more upbeat stuff to keep my pace going also – your body tends to have a way of wanting to keep up with the beat 🙂

  2. germanymarie says:

    Intervals always break up my treadmill boredom… 30 seconds here, a minute at this speed, a minute and a half at that speed… it goes by a LOT faster! And the music. Always the music.

Leave a Comment

