This past weekend we decided to take a few day excursion for my son and my sister’s birthday. My oldest son turned 6 while my sister turned 14, we needed something that fit both ages so Fun City it was. I was really leery about going away just for the simple fact that I was doing really well with my exercise and my portioning & then going out of the element and having to try to keep up with it. It’s hard!!  As a kid I traveled a lot my Mom used to call me a gypsy because I loved it so much.  I still enjoy it but there’s a lot more added stress with becoming a parent. You are not only responsible for your luggage packing but everyone elses’ in the house and all the chores that go along with it. 

I had looked though the website for the place we were going and mapped out that they had a pool and a rock wall and thought perhaps this is where I would find my extra workout while we were away. Portioning became problematic for me… I can’t lie, I love to eat ESPECIALLY when I don’t have to wash the dishes or clean up afterwards.  I did however, try to watch what I ate, and not just as I was putting it in my mouth… LOL!

I know I went over my calorie count on the last 2 days but it’s 2 days and I’m back on track today. You have to be able to enjoy yourself & your time with your friends and family and not fret about every single calorie.  The place we ate at Saturday night was a bad choice, but the FOOD was amazing. How can you say no to Prime Rib and Baked potato & Lemon cake?!? I was good I only ate 1 piece of prime rib. I felt like I probably could have eaten the entire side of it, it was amazing & so was the cake. Remember everything in moderation, enjoy your life & it’s OKAY to treat yourself once in a while.

I have found that there are ways to vacation without just losing all hope of staying on track, I will outline a few.

~ search for options to keep you active, i.e. for me it was the pool and rock wall.  It could be a hike or a bike ride or maybe just as simple as the hotel where you stay has a small gym, which are really nice by the way.

~ still keep up with drinking lots of water and pack healthy snacks. Try not to lose track of time and remember to eat every 2-3 hours & you won’t want to eat such a huge meal when your party decides to eat a meal. It will save your wallet too.

~ don’t let your food cravings take control of you, If you want something to eat, eat it but remember your portions and remember it’s ok to treat yourself.

~ use the stairs instead of the elevators & park the car away from the entrance. every little bit helps.

Stay active but enjoy your vacation.

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

One response »

  1. germanymarie says:

    Yay!! I love climbing, it looks like you did well! I’m proud of you for being concerned and trying to think ahead! 🙂

Leave a Comment

