Well, yesterday was Week 1, Day 2 of my 100 push ups challenge and I did a total of 14 push ups. I actually found them a little bit easier than the previous day. So, why was I dreading it so terribly?

I thought about having to do them all day. I thought about how difficult it was the night before and the fact that I’d have to do even MORE this time around. The dread was on! In a big way.

So often, and I know it’s the same with me, we psyche ourselves out. Immediately after finishing the first day’s trial, I began to think about Day 2. Maybe it’s because Day 1 was difficult and, while I was proud of myself, I knew this was going to be a challenging trial. I wonder how many people can’t turn off their mental noise because that’s what really defeats us before we even get started.

I waited all day to do my push ups and finally did them last night around 8pm. This time, I focused on my breathing because I had noticed that I was holding my breath during the first round. Focusing on the breathing really took my mind off the workout and before I knew it, I was done.

Today, I’m already ready for Day 3. 

I think that’s how it goes with any trial, but especially one that you’ve started and stopped before. You already know what to expect and it’s easy to get caught up in thinking about the next few steps instead of just being present. I was already dreading Day 2 and Day 3 and so on because, with each day, it gets harder and harder.

just do itOur mindset has so much to do with our success. So, for this trial especially, I am going to remain in the present, thinking only of that day’s challenge and not worrying about Week 3, Day 3. Sometimes, you just have to turn your brain off and just do it! There’s a reason that commercial and tagline was popular.

Don’t stop to think. Don’t worry about tomorrow’s challenge. Just look at what you’ve got on your plate today and DO. That’s my takeaway for today.

About Michelle S.

"Pain is temporary, quitting lasts forever..." Make each day better than the day before.

5 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    stop thinking, start doing! I’m proud of you!!! And if you EVER see that guy running again, do stop and tell him. It’ll make his day.

  2. […] myself for missing Day 3 of my 100 pushups challenge, especially after being pumped from completing Day 2 after dreading it so […]

  3. […] — I sort of dreading having to do 26 today. It just seems daunting. Last week, I was dreading Day 2 immediately after Day […]

  4. mirkorosco says:

    100 consecutive puhups

Leave a Comment

