People are different when it comes to how many meals in a day they choose to eat. Along with the obvious breakfast, lunch, and dinner, a lot of people I know who workout and eat good, all choose to eat 6 meals a day, adding a snack in between each meal. I’ve also read this as being a smart thing to do in both my magazines listed on the fitness links page. I choose to do this, because it works for me, AND because of what my snacks are. I also count drinking water as part of each snack in case I’m still hungry after my snacks. I’ve decided to list a number of different snacks to choose from that are ALL under 100 calories, as long as you keep the right portions given.

Vitamuffin Vita-Top: I’ve only seen these in Giant grocery stores, but I’m sure they’re also in others. Walmart does not carry them FYI.

Starbucks TALL Skinny latte: This takes care of your caffeine fix along with a 10 gram shot of protein, and 1/3 of your daily calcium needs.

Banana: This also has cramp preventing potassium!

1/2 Cup Edamame: eating out of the shell will make the snack last longer on your plate.

3 Cups popcorn: I buy the 100 calorie mini serving bags at the store. Add the spice Turmeric, a little olive oil, or even chili powder if you buy the butter kind.

Quaker Instant Oatmeal Regular Flavor: Add any kind of fruit or nut to this to make it tastier. I like adding apples, pecans and a little agave nectar or honey to mine. This is also protein and fiber packed. Get it in the packets, or a tub of it. YUM!

Yoplait Light Yogurt (fruit flavors): For those who don’t like mixing plain non-fat or greek yogurt with your own frozen fruit, this is a great alternative. Buy the kind that has  fruit on the top! This provides 20% of your daily need of Calcium and Vitamin D.

2 Sargento Light string cheese snacks: I only eat 1 because this brand tastes a bit saltier than the Polly-O brand. But it’s still good! Go for either brand. Any food you can play with is a distraction, plus the protein battles mid-afternoon hunger cravings.

8 Shrimp (rinsed) and 4 Tbsp cocktail sauce: The perfect appetizer.

1 Cup baby carrots & 2 Tbsp Hummus

1 1/4 oz Turkey Jerky: Tasty!

1/2 Cantaloupe: Like a lot of fruit, it contains a lot of water. You also get beta-carotene for a small number of calories!

1 Tbsp peanuts & 2 T bps dried cranberries: You can measure out a whole weeks worth of this snack by putting in plastic baggies. Great for kids too!

1 Cup raspberries with 2 Tbsp plain yogurt & 1 Tsp honey: You won’t even taste the plain yogurt thanks to the sweetness of both the fruit & honey!

5 Hershey’s Special Dark chocolate kisses: Did someone say chocolate?! Dark Chocolate is the healthiest chocolate for you. Some don’t like the semi-bitter taste, but this cocoa is equally rich in taste and disease-fighting antioxidants. SCORE!

– 18 Fat Free Rold Gold Tiny Twists: This kills 2 birds with 1 stone; Carbs & Salt. Yahtzee!

1 Cup Non-fat Milk + 1 Tbsp Hershey’s Lite Chocolate Syrup: Another hit of calcium coming up!

1 Nutter Butter granola bar

2 oz Apple Juice, 2 oz Soy or Non-fat Milk, 1/2 banana, 1 Scoop Vanilla Protein Powder & 1 Cup Ice Cubes: Another serving of YUM!

Best Nighttime Snack:  1/2 Whole-grain English muffin & 2 Tsp Almond Butter, topped with slices of 1/4 pear. OMG!

Best Postworkout Fuel: 1 Cup Low-fat milk, 1/4 frozen blueberries and pineapple. Blend and enjoy! I do!

**Most of these came from either Women’s Health or Fitness Magazine**

3 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    I’m a huge fan of cashew or almond butter with celery, or a handful of hazelnuts! I also like to buy a bar of chocolate and see how long I can make it last. I average about a week 🙂

  2. countrykay says:

    I love these ideas Steph! It’s good to know that I’m on target because I already eat alot of these snacks already in between my meals. I also think that the water added to snack idea is great!

  3. Homepage says:

    … [Trackback]…

    […] There you will find 36552 more Infos: fitfreedom.wordpress.com/2012/01/16/100-calorie-snacks/ […]…

Leave a Comment

