While doing my Couch to 5k this morning which I decided to do in the house because I’m not a fan of cooler weather. I really am a beach bum at heart…
<Ironic huh? Atleast I can laugh about it.>  I had a a lot of SUPPORT! 

I don’t own a  treadmill, I’ve been looking for one but to no avail, it just hasn’t happened yet. So my indoor exercises mean I have to walk/jog through my house, which is fine, the toys and children make for interesting obstacles. I have to say at least I’m making an effort. This morning was no different and my wonderful husband was there to capture it all on camera, to share with all of you. He also enjoys reading our blog and motivating me, even when I don’t want to, he’s there to push/cheer me on.


     I could never take on the things that I do without all the support from my family & my friends & my girls on here!
It is hard to find someone to feel ‘accountablility’ to. I was just talking to a Mom last night at my sister’s volleyball game about fitness and eating better. She said the worst part is finding someone to be accountable to without paying money.  She really liked Weight-Watchers’ program but didn’t feel that it was worth the money and time for weigh-ins, etc.. I told her you really don’t have to, just buy the books on Ebay if you like them and find a friend to hold you accountable & give you support.
    With media the way it is and the economy in the toilet we have to find ways to better ourselves without breaking our proverbial bank. Create a group, a phone tree or a Thursday night get-together, or a Tuesday morning tea group. Create a group on Facebook and encourage & motivate each other.<Ironically that’s how this whole blog got started.> Anything is better than nothing.
    
The girls and I on this blog help motivate, support each other and with that we find accountability. Thanks gals, you are helping me to be a better person, a better mother, friend and wife, YOU’ALL ROCK!

Kamay

*****

We decided that I should just add to this post, rather than writing a second one on the same topic: I really, totally agree with Kamay. It’s so important to have support when you’re trying to do ANYTHING.

I lived with a guy when I was at the beginning of getting back into shape who’d take every opportunity to make me feel bad about myself, even after I’d started to get back to something like my ‘old’ self. He always wanted to go out to eat rather than stay home and eat healthy, and would eat ice cream for breakfast, and then all of my healthy food for lunch. It was really, really hard to be good with him as my roommate, as my partner!!! It was almost like he didn’t want me to succeed.

Some people hate to see others succeed. Usually it’s because they feel bad about some part of themselves, and don’t know how/don’t want to do the work to fix it. So to make themselves feel better about their own crappy situations, they speak badly about your success or talk it down, making it less important than it really is.

I think we all have a person like that in our lives at one point in time or another, and it’s really hard to see what they do to us. Usually they are such a close person, so ingrained in our lives, that we just see the way they act as ‘normal’ and ‘kind of a downer’, rather than flat-out destructive and detrimental to our success.

We can’t get rid of the downer family members (not always), and sometimes we just feel too bad to ditch toxic friends, even if it would be the best thing for us. We’re all really just too nice, too often.

But we don’t have to listen. We don’t have to care. We don’t have to take their shitty attitudes seriously. That’s what our friends and neighbors are for. Friends are the family we choose for ourselves, and when your family or friends can’t be supportive, there are PLENTY of people out there to help you hold yourself accountable.

Michelle and Kamay know that if they were to call me up and say ‘I ate nothing but McDonald’s for the past five days’, I wouldn’t yell at them or make them feel bad. I’d say, ‘are you feeling ok? Tomorrow will be better’. And that would be it. That’s what positive attitudes are for, and that’s why your friends are your friends. We give each other support, and we don’t judge each other. If your friends are judging you, then they’re not really your friends.

Some people don’t have friends, or friends that are nearby. Thanks to sites like Facebook and Sparkpeople, they don’t have to be close. They don’t even have to be your friends in real life! There is always someone out there who’s trying to do what you’re trying to do, and if you look in the right places, you can find others to help you stay responsible and on the right track.

Check the meetup.com groups in your area… are there any fitness groups listed? You can meet new people AND reach your goals together! Join Sparkpeople dot com and join a group that’s relevant to your interests. Get your significant other, or their siblings or parents involved in your goals.

There is always help there when you need it, you just have to know where to look. The three of us started a group on FB once we realized we were all trying to do the same thing, and it’s been more helpful for me than anything else so far! I wouldn’t trade this support for anything.

Stay positive, keep going, and don’t listen to the people who are trying to bring you down. Haters gonna hate. And you’re already doing great ❤

GM

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

6 responses »

  1. germanymarie says:

    I was seriously planning to write about this same topic today, because of what Michelle wrote! I’m glad we’re on the same page! I’m thankful for you guys!! ❤

  2. germanymarie says:

    also, I, too, was considering doing the C25K indoors as well, when the colder weather hits!!! I was thinking of running in place, but running around the apartment could work, too!!

  3. countrykay says:

    So true!! Michelle got me thinking about it and my friend last night, sealed the deal. Glad we are on the same page and you need to write about it to, every POV is helpful.
    Rick got so tickled with the boys this morning they were like little ducks following me all over the house, it was too cute. Having that much support just pushes me to do it that much more and be that much more aware. The example I’m making for my kids is important. Don’t get me wrong, I like my quiet time outside early in the morning but nothing is better than spending time with my kids, even when they are making my cruches, push-ups and planks that much harder!

  4. Michelle S says:

    Look at that. I inspired someone! awesomeness! Starting that group on facebook and connecting on these issues has been hugely helpful for me. This is what I need to get my butt in gear. I’m so thankful.

  5. countrykay says:

    I have validation & positive reinforcement with you gals and that’s a HUGE plus. I too am very thankful.

  6. Kim says:

    The couch to 5K program really does work well as a jumping off point. I started using that program back in 2009 as a resolution to run a half marathon in 2010. I followed it and still use the Galloway run/walk intervals while running. I just completed my first marathon if it gives it any added validity.

Leave a Comment

