While walking through our local K-mart Sunday I ran across a bottle of Pepper Spray for sale, I was mildly amused, 1. because it was pink (I may be a mother of all boys but I still a girl at heart) and 2. because it had never occurred to me that it would be needed in such a rural area. Which got me thinking about my every other day walk and how ‘safely’ I was making that trek.

Ironically to me ‘Walking Safety’ is not the same for most others because I live in a really rural area. My biggest fear walking by the light of the moon each morning is meeting a skunk, being run over by a deer or becoming a cougar’s snack.  Very rarely do I see a car other than my own or my husbands, once in a great while my Brother or Sister-in-law will pass me on their way to work but it’s rare that I’m up that early or they are that late. However, Safety is still an issue and pretty much all the same rules apply whether you are in the middle of no where or if you live in the heart of the city.

We have a farm dog that usually is by my side so as for animals I don’t fret too terribly much but I’m not against protecting myself if I feel the need. I often tell my husband that ‘we live in the wilderness’ he just shakes his head at me. To me, it is, after growing up in the suburbs & the city. I don’t recommend carrying a weapon but I do recommend knowing how to defend yourself and if you feel like you are weak then carry something like pepper spray, it will even take care of the smallest of pesky animals without killing them & you can usually pick that up at the local Wal-mart or K-mart.

I’ve outlined a few good points here and will post the links:

*ALWAYS! be Aware of your surroundings… even if your dog is present, be aware of his/her responses as well, they will usually tip you off before you can hear anything.

* Face the Traffic, rather than walk with it, that way no one can drive up behind you.

* Dress correctly, I hadn’t done this for some time & my Brother-in-law who is the town cop, gave me a (pink) reflective belt to wear because it’s so dark in the mornings when I’m out.

* If you can, Never walk alone, I usually take my dog but try taking a friend or family member with you… preferably not one in a stroller.

* Loose the Jewelry, leave all your valuables at home. Something that sparkles will be an eye catcher for the wrong person/animal.

* Keep your hands free, so that if you need to push something away then you are free to do so.

There are many other great things outlined on both of these pages one on Walking Safety & one on Self-Defense.

If you feel the need to further yourself into self-defense classes please seek out your local Recreation Center or your Local YMCA – these venues may be able to help you.  If you cannot find help at either of these places, try a community center or even asking at the local police station.

Thank You, Shane!
For Always
caring about
the Boys &
my Safety.

We
Appreciate
You!

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

2 responses »

  1. Love this! I wish I had the country to walk in, rather than the peeping eyes of all the weirdos in town. It always makes me so self-conscious. But I always walk towards traffic, and the only jewelry I wear is the ring on my finger (which is kinda sharp). Great tips! Keep up the good work!

  2. countrykay says:

    Cass, you can come walk with me at my house anytime you want 😉 Are we still on for Zumba tommorow??

Leave a Comment

