Sometimes, all it takes is a thought or an image in your head to keep you on the right track.

This is the case for me and hot dogs. Hot dogs might still qualify as one of my favorite foods, although I try not to eat them so often. Why?

I’ll never forget the ONE episode of How it’s Made that I can actually remember: it was the one about how hot dogs are made. Have you seen it? No? Thankfully, YouTube has come to the rescue to help me share the unforgettable images WITH YOU (see below).

Whenever I think about hot dogs, I think about that segment of How it’s Made. And then I kind of want to vomit. Sure, I go on week-long benders once every few months where I buy a container of hot dogs (they’re sold in glass containers like pickles, here) and go through it. But I don’t eat them nearly as often as I used to. They used to be a staple in my house, growing up. They qualify as ‘comfort food’ for me.

Yeah. I don’t know about you, but that image of the meat after it’s been processed and looks a lot like diarrhea is enough to make me sick. Sorry for sharing that. But it was necessary.

I mention my issue with hot dogs because I just read an article about a new scientific study that was done, linking consumption of fast food to certain types of brain damage. I’m not even joking.

The issue with science and scientific studies is that the results are ever-evolving. Anyone who’s around my age might remember the back and forth that went on with eggs for the past 10 years: they’re great for you, they’re really bad for you, they’re ok for you, no they’re bad for you again, etc.

Changing results like these make it hard for a lot of people to believe anything we read in regards to scientific results. So a lot of people tend to just shrug off news articles reporting new findings. I’m right there with the rest of the population, I read the stuff but try not to invest too much into all of it, because the results change a LOT. I don’t disregard things like global warming, but I’m not holding my breath on the new MS pill that’s in the testing phases.

But for getting back in shape, or for eating better, I think that sometimes it’s good to hold onto an image or an idea, as a form of motivation (or in this case, demotivation). Kind of like how I don’t eat hot dogs so often after seeing that video.

So the fact that THIS TIME, fast food is bad enough to lead to brain damage and make our bodies FORGET HOW TO LOSE EXCESS WEIGHT, is ok by me. That’s the thought I’m going to hold onto the next time my boyfriend wants to hit up the BK Lounge.

Maybe in 3 years these findings will be disproven. Maybe somehow (I doubt it), fast food will turn out to be good for the general population. Regardless of future findings, I’m going to keep this in my head. This thought of brain damage will be one more thought to have when I’m considering fast food. And it will help me to say no.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

3 responses »

  1. Bunny Eats Design says:

    I don’t really have a problem with with how hot dogs are made and I’m sure that in any cooking process, there maybe be a scene or two that doesn’t look appetising. It’s not popular here in New Zealand to buy hot dogs in cans or jars. Instead, we buy them from the deli counter where you find ham, pastrami, cooked chicken etc. Maybe this makes it more acceptable me as as “meat”.

    It’s not something I eat often either but a special treat. It might be highly processed, but it’s eaten for fun, not for nutrition. My husband (who loves hot dogs) refers to the meat as “eyeballs and a**holes”. Lovely.

    You can always use gourmet pork sausages to make hot dogs with. Goes down just as well 🙂

    • germanymarie says:

      What’s funny is that here in Germany, it’s hard to find real hot dogs, but Wurst is everywhere… I’ve never been a huge fan of pork and it’s a downside to living here in the land of sausage. I’ve always loved the taste of hot dogs, but never sausage (except for breakfast sausages, strangely). I might have to see if my deli has anything good-looking, though, good suggestion!!

  2. countrykay says:

    I don’t eat Hot Dogs, alot of the peservatives in them don’t sit well with me. However, I do feed them to my children from time to time, moderation is what I would say to that. As for the crazy studies, I once heard on the radio of a study that said young woman who ate more than a normal helping/share of french fries during their young teen and adult lives where more likely to develope breast cancer, mind you I’m at risk because both my Grandma and Great Grandma are/were breast cancer survivors and all I could think was I have a terrible McDonald’s addiction… I’m so completely SCREWED! So with that being said I decided no more ‘super-sizing’ that’s more than the normal share right?!? And now I hardly eat them at all. I breast fed all three of my kids so I MIGHT, just might make it through this after all. Honestly, I don’t pu tmuch stock in them either but you’re right if it curbs your appetite, be sure that every little thing helps.

Leave a Comment

