I meant to write an update on the two fitness trials I’m doing this week, which was SUPPOSED to be the end of week 2 for both of them! While it technically IS the end of week 2, because 14 days have passed, it’s kind of not because I keep slacking a bit.

So I’m really actually on Week 2, day 2. By that I mean that I need to do day 2, and that day 1 was the last one that I completed.

Here’s what I can say about the Pintrest trial and the Couch to 5k trial: They both work. By that, I mean that on the first day of BOTH of them, I was feeling totally miserable and weak, and therefore out of shape. I looked a lot like Homer Simpson in the image on the first day.

But by the time the third day came around (I do them both on the same days, which are preferably the days when I’m not going to Budo later on in the evening, since that might be overkill), I could already feel the difference in my endurance, mood and strength.

I’m not going to lie: my push-ups still aren’t the best, most perfect push-ups, YET. And it was only on the 4th day that I was able to hold Plank pose for a straight minute without pushing back into Downward Dog to take a kind of rest-without-resting. But the fact is, I’m getting there. And the even better fact is that I can actually SEE a difference in my hips and core on the days when I’m actually doing this every other day.

I don’t see any definition today, because it’s been 2 days since my last workout. In my own defense, I was out of town and walked for a minimum of 2 hours on both days. So it’s not that I didn’t work out, it’s just that I didn’t do what I planned to do.

2 hours of walking is a great workout, regardless of what speed you’re going. When you think back to the times around BC to AD, people back then did NOTHING but walk. They walked everywhere. Some Occupy protesters walked from NYC to DC a few weeks ago, did you hear about that? That’s actually making a statement these days. Totally badass.

So tomorrow, even though it’s Sunday and supposed to be the day of rest when you have a workout schedule, I’ll be running and doing my workout. I’m actually already wearing my running clothes, since I meant to run today and got sidetracked by housework and catching up with friends. I’m planning to sleep in them, so I can wake up and do my workout FIRST THING tomorrow morning. No excuses when all you need to do it put on your shoes, right?

*

But seriously, I’d like to talk about something for a moment. That thing is BEING NICE TO YOURSELF.

So many of us set such lofty goals and high expectations for ourselves that it’s impossible to succeed. I could be angry at myself for not getting in the proposed workout for two days in a row, as the schedule calls for, but you know what? I’m not going to dwell on it. Instead of working out, I got a ton of writing done, toured new cities, got to see friends, went grocery shopping and cleaned my house. Those things needed to get done, I wanted to do them, and they also required a bit of daylight. So if I run out of daylight, then ok. I’ll do some crunches tonight and do the rest tomorrow.

But here’s the deal: we shouldn’t get angry with ourselves, but we also SHOULDN’T MAKE EXCUSES and keep putting things off.

I read a great motivational quote the other day that I’d like to share:

Yesterday, you said ‘tomorrow’.

I think this is another issue that we all have. We try to do SO many things in a day or at once that we end up having to put other things off.

You should never put YOURSELF off. Never. Your life, your happiness, your self. First. Always.

So tomorrow morning, my self comes first. Today, my self also came first. Our priorities are our own. Do what you can, when you can, and don’t stress when you can’t.

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

3 responses »

  1. Michelle S says:

    yes! that’s the problem with these day to day, week to week programs. you may end up on week 2, day 1 for a few days with all of the other things you have on your plate at any given moment. It’s hard to keep track. hence the reason it has taken me numerous attempts to conquer the 100 push-ups challenge (which I need to restart…again). Yesterday, I did say tomorrow. and I said it today, too. Life seems to creep in when you have so much to accomplish. But for real, tomorrow I am getting that damn yoga mat out if it’s the last thing I do. Hopefully, it’ll be the first! Rock on.

  2. countrykay says:

    I would just like to add that I am starting the trials, both, & it will cover my 6 days of the week, I’m doing the couch to 5k Mon, Wed, & Fri and the Pinterest thing Tues, Thurs and Sat. I’m really hoping that it will workout b/c as for now I’m kind of able to get out with the weather but soon that will not be the case. Hopefully it will & I will work-out! & I too will be keeping you abreast with my progress!! Kudos to your Michelle I will have to send you a message in the morning about where your yoga mat is… LOVE YA!!

Leave a Comment

