So it’s come to my attention after hauling several boxes of Christmas Decorations up and down the stairs that even though I might not have ‘exercised’ in a walking/jogging/ riding a stationary bike sense, I did, however, exercise today.

As a Mom, I couldn’t tell you usually on a given day when I actually ‘sit down’ <I’m standing while typing this> & that whole business about Moms sitting around eating Bon-bons & watching movies is for the birds! I’m on the go from the time I open my eyes in the morning till the time I lay my head on the pillow at night. There is NEVER a dull moment in my life. I’m a Mom with 3 male children under the age of 6?? I know, I hear it all the time, I’m crazy!

However, I had to make myself feel good about the ‘work-out’ I was getting walking up and down the stairs, or just on an average day doing the normal cleaning duties of a ‘Mom’. I did some research and found this chart on Wiki Answers and I was happy to know that despite my valiant effort to get up this morning and exercise – not ALL hope was lost.

According to them based on calories burned in half-hour:

Doing laundry 73

Making the bed 68

Cooking 85

Washing the dishes 78

Ironing 78

Dusting 85

Sweeping 112

Vacuuming 119

Scrubbing the floors 129

Rearranging furniture 204

Yard work 170

Washing windows 102

Washing the car 102

Gardening 136

Mowing the lawn 187

Raking 146

Shoveling snow 204

Carrying a small child (up to 15 lbs.) up and down stairs 289

Read more here: http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_many_calories_burned_doing_house_work#ixzz1iYYZyRbZ

So, take this into account when you are working on your ‘slow & steady race’. I’m winning, are you??

About countrykay

Life is a Journey, Not a Destination, Wear Comfortable Shoes.

One response »

  1. I am so going to start burning calories this way! So much easier than working out. lol 🙂

Leave a Comment

