I know from my own experience and from the words of others: one of the biggest hurdles of getting BACK into a fitness routine is remembering what you used to be capable of doing BEFORE you fell out of it. This act of remembering isn’t always as helpful as we think it is. In fact, often times it’s just setting us up for failure.

Why? Because I’m never going to be 21 again, and neither are you. I’m never going to be able to stay up for three days straight just doing art and homework and then decide I need a break and go for a run. I’m not that person anymore, my body isn’t that body anymore. We’re fooling ourselves if we think we can get back to exactly where we were.

Sure, we CAN get to a comparable place, in this newer and older body of ours, but it won’t be the same.

With that in mind, along with all of the memories of how awesome I used to be at running all over Baltimore with my running partner, I’ve decided that my first fitness trial (I’m planning to try LOTS of new things that are available on the internet) is going to be the Couch to 5K Program. Because this is, quite literally, where I am right now in terms of fitness: I can’t seem to get my ass off the couch.

When I look at the program, the part of me that remembers how much of a running badass I used to be gets cocky and thinks, ‘this is too easy!’. The other part of me, the part that knows my limits and knows my motivational pitfalls, thinks, ‘this is just right’. Then there’s the optimistic part of me, (and this is the part I’m listening to the most right now) the part that knows how I get once I get into something, that part is saying ‘yeah, start this program. And if you can do better, faster, then by all means, do it:)’

I’m listening to the optimist, and hoping that I don’t need a full 9 weeks to get back to running a 5k. Since that’s exactly where I left off, and I know I’m capable of it. I will certainly keep you posted on my progress!

About germanymarie

I work hard, and I live hard.

6 responses »

  1. […] what I can say about the Pintrest trial and the Couch to 5k trial: They both work. By that, I mean that on the first day of BOTH of them, I was feeling totally […]

  2. […] those of you not in the loop, I posted earlier about beginning the Couch to 5K program and also trying out a routine that I found interesting on Pintrest. Today is the end of the […]

  3. […] also like to add that with this blog, we try each new trial like the Couch to 5k, the Pinterest trial, the 100 pushups, and the vertical jump training, and plan […]

  4. […] Couch to 5k has been great like before even with adding more time to the jog I can totally feel myself working […]

  5. […] The C25K as it calls for every other day & was doing the pinterest workout and other toning […]

  6. […] I’m supposed to be on week 7 by this week of the C25k. However, I feel like I’m not doing so hot. Perhaps, I need a lesson in slow and steady wins […]

Leave a Comment

